Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-13-2011, 05:27 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 10
Share |
Default

Standing Pilot Furnace


I have a standing pilot furnace and the pilot is very weak to reach the thermocouple. The thermocouple has bee tested OK. I am not able to take off the pilot assembly to clean tubing that connects to gas valve. If the gas pressure low would that be the reason for my weak pilot flame? Also, the pilot adjust screw is already set at the max; and the gas valve only have an output test port.

205HVAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 05:32 PM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,260
Default

Standing Pilot Furnace


orifice inside the pilot burner is plugged up. 95% of the time it gets damaged when you try remove it but some are cleanable. to avoid callbacks I would replace the pilot burner.

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 05:39 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 10
Default

Standing Pilot Furnace


Do I need a particular pilot burner or will a universal one from the supply house will work.
205HVAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 06:14 PM   #4
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,260
Default

Standing Pilot Furnace


need a particular one. there are right hand/left hand and center shot types etc etc. what is the brand and model # of the unit? some are getting obsolete.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 06:35 PM   #5
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,489
Default

Standing Pilot Furnace


Hey Yuri, Iv'e heard you say this before and it puzzels me small brain.
30 years of big fingered repairs have never resulted in me damaging a pilot orifice? Just what method are you using to remove the orifice?

Hey 205HVAC
How was the thermocouple tested? What was the tester's idea of OK?
If you can't remove the pilot assy then getting a new pilot assy won't help you But if you are at the stage of calling someone in to do it for you then there is one more thing to try.
Take a large screwdriver and bang the base or the body of the pilot assy like you were knocking on the front door. Don't be gentle but don't hit the thermocouple or pilot tube. Do this while the pilot gas is going through the pilot assy. Often this will clear the debris in the pilot assy or pilot orifice and you will see the pilot flame substantially improve.
You've got nothing to lose in trying.

Last edited by how; 12-13-2011 at 06:39 PM.
how is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 06:47 PM   #6
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,260
Default

Standing Pilot Furnace


Mostly they get that ash buildup stuck between the orifice and body here and that seizes them in. Natural gas is not the same all across Canada and the US so ours may burn different than yours. Mostly those HWell Q314s are what I run into but the heat seems to get them stuck too. I would hate to see a poster collapse one and end up with no heat. A Pro knows or should know how to finagel them out.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to yuri For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (12-13-2011)
Old 12-13-2011, 07:14 PM   #7
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,489
Default

Standing Pilot Furnace


Hey Yuri
I don't see much ash here binding the orifices. Heat..Yes.. or moisture from those foolish enough to turn off their pilots in the summer. Out here if they have rusted closed we can often clear the orifices from the underside with my favourite orifice clearing tool...EAC wire.
how is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 07:26 PM   #8
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,260
Default

Standing Pilot Furnace


clever idea. pilot lites are less than 5% of what I see nowadays as most people have a high and even mids are fading away.

you also don't see -30 to -40C where U are. 3 months of rain but at least it is warm water.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 10:26 PM   #9
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,626
Default

Standing Pilot Furnace


testing a thermocouple you remove it put an outside flame on it(stove,lighter) and read the screw down end with a millivolt meter..the pilot assemble holds the TC in place by push in locking ferrel or nutted to a fitting
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 11:58 PM   #10
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,489
Default

Standing Pilot Furnace


The purpose of my" how was it tested question" was to see if it was a closed thermocouple test or the open one that Biggles described. The open test only answers 1/2 of the question of a thermocouple being "OK", whereas a dropping closed test also shows the responding gas valves electromagnetic strength. Getting both sides of that equation gives a much more complete answer for why a pilot is going out.

Last edited by how; 12-14-2011 at 12:12 AM.
how is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 12:16 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1
Default

Standing Pilot Furnace


205HVAC,
I know you did not ask this question but I wonder if:

-Is it time to upgrade your furnace
-If no, have you considered replacing your current valve/continuous pilot with an Intermittent Pilot Retrofit Kit?

http://www.honeywell-thermostat.com/...6006manual.pdf

primemover is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Furnace pilot light will not ignite - Carrier 58 GS Furnace? rasilun HVAC 3 10-29-2011 09:38 PM
standing pilot in carrier furnace Ronnie1010 HVAC 3 01-12-2011 09:34 PM
Carrier/Bryant/Payne 3 wire gas pilot assy 1991 furnace GBG HVAC 14 09-24-2010 06:10 PM
Gas Furnace Pilot Light curtis_n94521 HVAC 1 01-25-2010 08:42 PM
Bryant Furnace pilot not lighting DGB HVAC 2 05-31-2009 11:47 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.