Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-15-2009, 09:12 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
Share |
Question

Squirrel cage motor in air handler...no start


Recently my squirrel cage motor will not engage or start. It is getting signal and current. Today I opened the front of the unit to see if i could trouble shoot the problem. When the signal comes to the fan motor I hear a humming sound (which i assume is current) and clicking (which i assume are the controls), but the motor won't engage. I gave the squirrel cage a spin with my hand and the motor engaged and ran fine. It seems the motor isn't getting enough initial power to start. I have no idea what the problem could be. The motor and capacitor are less than a year old.

andyinrichmond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 09:55 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

Squirrel cage motor in air handler...no start


First guess is the capacitor.

You can check it by putting a 1 Megohm resistor across it until the voltage drops below a volt or so. If the voltage is already less than 120v you can discharge it faster by putting an incandescent lamp across the cap.

Then put a 9v battery across the resistor/capacitor combo and measure the voltage with your DMM. If the voltage doesn't immediately go up to about 9v, the capacitor is shorted.

Then remove the battery, and time how long it takes to drop to 37% of initial voltage. So if the initial voltage is 9.1v then you're looking for a voltage of 3.4v.
Time in seconds = capacity in uF, so taking 30 seconds to reach 3.4v would mean 30 uF.
Compare this value with the capacitor's marked value, taking into account the marked tolerance on the capacitor value.

A part failing this soon falls into the category of "infant mortality" [as opposed to normal wearout after years of use] and usually means a factory defect. I don't think there was an external root cause making this part fail.


Last edited by Yoyizit; 03-15-2009 at 10:04 AM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 10:09 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
Default

Squirrel cage motor in air handler...no start


Thanks, Yoy...that makes perfect sense. Unfortunately i don't have access to the resistor you mentioned and i'm not sure lowes or home depot would carry it or even a capacitor for that matter. It looks like i'll be running the space heater until monday or tuesday when i can get to a supply house. thanks again for your help.
andyinrichmond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 10:17 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

Squirrel cage motor in air handler...no start


Quote:
Originally Posted by andyinrichmond View Post
i don't have access to the resistor you mentioned
Radio Shack has them, though it's probably a good gamble to just replace the cap, but don't throw out the old cap until you're sure the problem is fixed.

Troubleshooting by parts replacement is generally a bad idea.

Last edited by Yoyizit; 03-15-2009 at 10:51 AM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 11:43 AM   #5
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Squirrel cage motor in air handler...no start


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
Radio Shack has them, though it's probably a good gamble to just replace the cap, but don't throw out the old cap until you're sure the problem is fixed.

Troubleshooting by parts replacement is generally a bad idea.

True, but if you got no meter a 20 buck cap ain't much of an investment to change.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 11:47 AM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,032
Default

Squirrel cage motor in air handler...no start


Maybe someone left the lead squirrel out of the squirrel cage motor.

That can happen if you leave the cage door open. ROFL
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 12:00 PM   #7
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Squirrel cage motor in air handler...no start


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Maybe someone left the lead squirrel out of the squirrel cage motor.

That can happen if you leave the cage door open. ROFL
UUhhhhh.....Been... stick to the serious stuff..You're better at it than i am ..I'l do the jokes
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 12:15 PM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,032
Default

Squirrel cage motor in air handler...no start


Couldn't resist the squirrel cage motor. LOL
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 12:27 PM   #9
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Squirrel cage motor in air handler...no start


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Couldn't resist the squirrel cage motor. LOL

it's the vernacular that's used here to describe the furnace blower (I am sure you already know that though) around here. Do they call it something else in your part of the country?
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 12:43 PM   #10
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,032
Default

Squirrel cage motor in air handler...no start


We just call it a blower motor.

Or direct drive blower motor.

Only a couple 1940s and 50s units had prop/blade type fans/blowers.

The old ones that were installed for gravity or forced air application.
And they were belt drives. With the blower on top.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 01:30 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
Default

Squirrel cage motor in air handler...no start


Alright...point taken. It's just that carpenters such as myself are accustomed (and forced) to use terminology that other trades can grasp. It's actually a relief (all jokes, of course). That being said, I removed the capacitor and reversed the terminals before remounting (as a last ditch effort to get some heat), flipped the breakers, turned on the thermostat and the fan immediately turned on. I'm guessing i'm going to get out of this with a new capacitor, unless you guys see it differently. Thinking back, this has been a slow progression. I have noticed that it has taken more and more time for the fan to cut on over the last two weeks.

Thanks again for all of your responses...and jokes. It's a good feeling to know that i don't know everything.
andyinrichmond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 01:34 PM   #12
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Squirrel cage motor in air handler...no start


Go to an hvac supplier and have them test the capacitor. Bring the motor just in case the cap checks good. If it does your motor should be replaced.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 03:43 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

Squirrel cage motor in air handler...no start


Quote:
Originally Posted by andyinrichmond View Post
I removed the capacitor and reversed the terminals before remounting (as a last ditch effort to get some heat), flipped the breakers, turned on the thermostat and the fan immediately turned on.
Very strange.
There might be a microgap in the internal connection of the cap. Maybe it opens and closes depending on temp. If they check it with a tester have them put stress on the terminals to check it for an intermittent.

http://www.rclambert.com/supra/blowe...rel%20cage.JPG
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 03:53 PM   #14
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,032
Default

Squirrel cage motor in air handler...no start


Its a capacitor.
Just replace it, and see if the motor keeps working better.

If not, motor start windings or switch is going out.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing air handler - How to fit when form factors are slightly different?? hennyh HVAC 2 11-16-2006 08:23 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.