Split System, High Humidity - HVAC - Page 3 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-18-2011, 09:57 PM   #31
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,554
Rewards Points: 4,746
Default

split system, high humidity


The EIM of the Yh9421 needs a constant 24 volts, Its mounted at the indoor unit. The stat on the wall is fed from the EIM, but it only uses 3 wires.

Advertisement

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 10:48 PM   #32
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

split system, high humidity


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
The EIM of the Yh9421 needs a constant 24 volts, Its mounted at the indoor unit. The stat on the wall is fed from the EIM, but it only uses 3 wires.
Yea, thats the current set up as well, but I have separate heat and I shutdown the Air Handler in the winter by the main breaker. I was thinking about installing an alternate power source a 110 to 24 volt AC converter. The converter would be on a separate line then the Air handler.

Do you see an issue with that?
pauli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 05:09 AM   #33
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,554
Rewards Points: 4,746
Default

split system, high humidity


Other then it making additional wiring work, no problem doing that. Why do you shut off the power to the air handler.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 08:10 AM   #34
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

split system, high humidity


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Other then it making additional wiring work, no problem doing that. Why do you shut off the power to the air handler.
My furnace is a oil fired, hot water radiator type, The air handler is separate and is in the attic. Can't see a reason to waste the electricity during the winter.
pauli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 05:20 PM   #35
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,554
Rewards Points: 4,746
Default

split system, high humidity


The transformer in the air handler in the attic doesn't use much electric. Using another transformer instead will use just as much electric.

Advertisement

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
High humidity in house in winter reddog General DIY Discussions 7 06-28-2011 06:38 PM
high humidity in my house mfinley HVAC 1 06-23-2010 06:55 PM
high humidity inside my house mfinley Building & Construction 1 06-22-2010 05:03 PM
beware humidity system? Emaderton3 HVAC 5 02-11-2010 12:52 AM
High humidity (RH) spm25 HVAC 3 11-06-2009 08:50 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts