Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-13-2013, 01:38 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 24
Share |
Default

Sometimes my cenral AC run and sometimes not running


Hi,

I need some help on my central AC compressor. I notice that sometimes it runs and sometimes it did not run. When it did not run, I went to my house Main Switch Panel and I reset it by turn the switch Off and ON; then the compressor worked again. I noticed that whenever I adjust the temperator from the thermostat or turn AC on and off on the thermostat, the compressor has a problem to start to run. Is this related to capacitor problem? Please help.

ON the title, I mean the compressor sometimes run and sometimes not running; but the fan still working. Is the capacitor is bad?

Last edited by tuanngnt; 08-13-2013 at 01:41 AM.
tuanngnt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 04:05 AM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 24
Default

Sometimes my cenral AC run and sometimes not running


What I find out is the compressor stop running.
tuanngnt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 06:11 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 24
Default

Sometimes my cenral AC run and sometimes not running


I changed the capacitor; but no good at all.
tuanngnt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 07:42 AM   #4
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,574
Default

Sometimes my cenral AC run and sometimes not running


that turning on an off real quick could be one problem...he pressures need to equalize for a restart so always shut the stat off when resetting and then work he stat after couple of minutes.if the condenser fan is running but not the compressor could be a internal safety cause the main contactor is in running the fan outside..internal heat overload...
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 07:55 AM   #5
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 12,921
Default

Sometimes my cenral AC run and sometimes not running


There is not a timer somewhere inside the cabinet, or furnace, which could be failing. That would be the first thing I would be looking for, along with a bad contactor on the outside unit, that is failing.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: So what'll happen?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 07:55 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 24
Default

Sometimes my cenral AC run and sometimes not running


Quote:
Originally Posted by biggles View Post
that turning on an off real quick could be one problem...he pressures need to equalize for a restart so always shut the stat off when resetting and then work he stat after couple of minutes.if the condenser fan is running but not the compressor could be a internal safety cause the main contactor is in running the fan outside..internal heat overload...

Hi,

Please help me out. Here is what I found out more: When I turn on the AC on the thermostat, the thermostat indicated cool and I went outside to see the compressor and fan both running. I went inside and feel the cool air. This whole process run about 10 minutes; then suddenly the thermostat indicated every thing stop; then on the outside, the compressor and fan stop running too. The stopping period last about 5 minutes; then the thermostat indicated running again. I went outside and see the fan running but NOT the compressor; I hear the repeated noise from compressor trying to start. I went inside and notice that NO cool air at all. What is going on? Please let me know.
tuanngnt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 08:00 AM   #7
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,331
Default

Sometimes my cenral AC run and sometimes not running


your thermostat is faulty and short cycling. the compressor needs to be off for 5-10 minutes for the Freon pressures to equalize. if they don't then the compressor stalls and cannot start against the high pressure. long story short go to Home Depot and buy a Honeywell Focus Pro thermostat and it will have a 5-10 minute built in time delay ( read the programming and activate it) which should keep the compressor off long enough and it should not recycle/start itself that often either. make sure there is no heat source near the thermostat causing it to restart itself like bright Sunlight or TV or other heat producing items.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 08:01 AM   #8
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 12,921
Default

Sometimes my cenral AC run and sometimes not running


Pull the thermostat and tie the Y1 & R wires together, to see if it continues to run. If it does, then bad thermostat.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: So what'll happen?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?

Last edited by gregzoll; 08-13-2013 at 11:18 AM.
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 08:05 AM   #9
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,331
Default

Sometimes my cenral AC run and sometimes not running


y1 and C will blow the transformer or fuse or board plus you need a G circuit.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 08:06 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 24
Default

Sometimes my cenral AC run and sometimes not running


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Pull the thermostat and tie the Y1 & C wires together, to see if it continues to run. If it does, then bad thermostat.
Ok, I will do that. By the way, I noticed that after the compressor could not run any more, I leave the system off for about few hours; then turn the AC on again from the thermostat; then the compressor run again and cool air come out again; but it will stop running for about 10 minutes; so the whole process start to happen again.

It sounded to me the compressor is overheat or something. I wish not because I am unemployed right now. If it is thermostat, then I happy for it.
tuanngnt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 08:09 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 24
Default

Sometimes my cenral AC run and sometimes not running


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
y1 and C will blow the transformer or fuse or board plus you need a G circuit.
So don't wire this right?
tuanngnt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 08:10 AM   #12
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,331
Default

Sometimes my cenral AC run and sometimes not running


if you tie those wires together damage will occur. would need to use R to Y but that still is incorrect as the furnace fan won't run on some units. he is trying to be helpful but yes that is wrong. replace the thermostat, costs under $75. don't buy any other cheaper ones as they are mostly Chineez offshore poor quality.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by yuri; 08-13-2013 at 08:13 AM.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 08:15 AM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 24
Default

Sometimes my cenral AC run and sometimes not running


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
if you tie those wires together damage will occur. would need to use R to Y but that still is incorrect as the furnace fan won't run on some units.
My house is split system AC unit and I noticed this happening downstair. I also went up upstair to use other thermostat to turn on the AC and still did not see the compressor running at all; so no cold air coming out. If I wait for a few hours; then I noticed that I can start the system with compressor running again for about 10 minutes.

I still have a spare Honeywell thermostat that I knew it is working. I will give it a try on that thermostat.

Is this really thermostat? If it is, then why my upstair thermostat did the samething...that mean when I turn the AC from that thermostat, the compressor did not run at all; so no cold air at all; but the compressor fan is still running and blower fan is running.
tuanngnt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 08:21 AM   #14
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,331
Default

Sometimes my cenral AC run and sometimes not running


you may have a larger problem like low voltage to the units or your house. both units should not have the same problem. that is VERY hard on the compressors and can damage them. may want to get a Pro to check them. you would need to check the voltage to them AND while it is trying to start. could be the compressor(s) are getting old (if they are old units) and seizing up and may need a hard start kit or you got other problems like a bad thermostatic expansion valve, burned contacts in the contactor, or damaged wiring at the compressor etc. sounds like a voltage problem too me. best to get a Pro to check them before some very expensive damage occurs.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by yuri; 08-13-2013 at 08:31 AM.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 08:27 AM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 24
Default

Sometimes my cenral AC run and sometimes not running


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
you may have a larger problem like low voltage to the units or your house. both units should not have the same problem. that is VERY hard on the compressors and can damage them. may want to get a Pro to check them or electrician. you would need to check the voltage to them AND while it is trying to start. could be the compressor is getting old and seizing up and may need a hard start kit or you got other problems like a bad thermostatic expansion valve. sounds like a voltage problem too me.
This compressor is 9 years old. Last year I changed the evaporator coil; then
my system is running well since September 2012. I have used it with the new evaporator coil for many months; then Kaboom I noticed the problem happening yesterday.
tuanngnt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.