Something Keeps Running On A/C - HVAC - Page 3 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-17-2013, 07:43 PM   #31
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,137
Rewards Points: 912
Default

Something keeps running on A/C


Civilization V computer video game. Gets addictive sometimes.

Advertisement

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 01:05 PM   #32
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Something keeps running on A/C


I thought it would be a good idea to check for 120VAC at the black and white wires from the transformer before I purchased a new one. The LED code says to check for 120VAC at L1 and L2. The white wire is plugged into L2, but the black wire is going to Spare 2 on the bottom of the board. Does this sound right, or did I screw up? I thought I was being careful transferring the wires, but stuff happens. L1 looks to be the connection on the black box marked A. I have another black wire going to that coming from a bundle of 3 black, 3 white and a red wire.

Edit: I took a picture before I started removing wires, and it's definitely a black wire with a blue cover over the connector that's connected to the black box marked A. The black wire from the transformer has a red cover, so it definitely was not going there. So assuming I have the wires correct, do I still check for power between L1 (the A box) and L2, or between L2 and Spare 2 where the black wire is going?

Last edited by miscrap; 09-18-2013 at 01:16 PM.
miscrap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 01:11 PM   #33
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,137
Rewards Points: 912
Default

Something keeps running on A/C


U screwed Up.

Spare is 4 the unused motor leads. I don't have your wiring diagram in front of me but you should be able to follow where it goes on yours.

Gimme 5 minutes and I will see what I can find but it is better for you to find it on your diagram.

Got it now. The Black from the transformer goes to the PRI 1 terminal/ primary 1 terminal which is beside your spare terminal. I think you need to carefully trace every wire that you connected to match the wiring diagram now. I cannot see them from here or talk you thru that. Hopefully nothing got damaged on the board in the process from a backfeed.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 09-18-2013 at 01:21 PM.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to yuri For This Useful Post:
miscrap (09-18-2013)
Old 09-18-2013, 01:24 PM   #34
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Something keeps running on A/C


Thanks, Yuri! But, the PR1 terminal has a black wire (with red top) coming directly from the motor in the blower.
miscrap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 01:57 PM   #35
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 111
Rewards Points: 77
Default

Something keeps running on A/C


According to the schematic PR-1 terminal is the black wire going to the 120V side of the transformer

L1 terminal is the black wire coming from the blower door switch

L2 is the white wire going from L2 terminal to PL4 (3-circuit connector) on schematic

See attached diagram

So it appears that the black wire from the fan motor should be going to COOL terminal and wire on PR-1 should be going to the transformer.

Where do you have the black wire from the transformer connected?
Attached Thumbnails
Something keeps running on A/C-carrierwiring.jpg  

Last edited by firedawgsatx; 09-18-2013 at 04:33 PM.
firedawgsatx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 02:43 PM   #36
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Something keeps running on A/C


Hi firedawgsatx,
L2 says Neutral; it has 4 white wires going there.
On the very bottom of the board there are 2 black wires with red covers. One is coming from the blower motor and is going to PR1. The other is coming from the transformer and is going to Spare-2. It's possible that I switched those wires by mistake - I was doing them one at a time, but had to remove the lower ones to swing the board into place. I made a drawing showing a black wire with red cover going to PR1, and it's possible that I grabbed the wrong one. But I still show a wire going to Spare-2. Does it make sense that that could be coming from the motor?
I found this wiring diagram online. Not sure if it's the same as the one you posted. It's on page 46, figure 52. The black wire from the transformer definitely looks like it should be going to PR1, but I'm pretty sure that there was a wire on Spare-2. I don't want to just swap them without having one of you experts take a look.
Thanks again so much!!

http://www.docs.hvacpartners.com/idc.../58ct-12si.pdf

Edit: Looks like you posted the same diagram. There are 5 thicker wires coming from the blower motor - Red, Black, Blue, Yellow and White. I put that black wire (which has a red cover over the connector) on PR-1. I put the black wire from the transformer (which also has a red cover) on Spare-2. PR-1 and Spare-2 are both on the bottom edge of the board, 2 inches apart. Since we know the black wire from the transformer should be going to PR-1, I have to believe the thick black wire from the motor has to go to Spare-2; I'm pretty sure something went there, and since the two wires look alike I must have switched them. The black wire going to L-1 has a blue cover. The picture I took before I started removing wires shows a (thinner) black wire with a blue cover, so I'm sure I got that in the right place. If the thick black wire with red cover coming from the motor doesn't go to Spare-2 I don't know where else it could go.

Last edited by miscrap; 09-18-2013 at 02:58 PM.
miscrap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 03:01 PM   #37
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Something keeps running on A/C


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
U screwed Up.

Spare is 4 the unused motor leads.
So it would make sense that the thick black wire with red top coming from the motor would go to Spare-2, and the thinner black wire with red top coming from the transformer would go to PR-1. Right?
miscrap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 03:19 PM   #38
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 111
Rewards Points: 77
Default

Something keeps running on A/C


Quote:
Edit: Looks like you posted the same diagram. There are 5 thicker wires coming from the blower motor - Red, Black, Blue, Yellow and White. I put that black wire (which has a red cover over the connector) on PR-1. I put the black wire from the transformer (which also has a red cover) on Spare-2. PR-1 and Spare-2 are both on the bottom edge of the board, 2 inches apart. Since we know the black wire from the transformer should be going to PR-1, I have to believe the thick black wire from the motor has to go to Spare-2; I'm pretty sure something went there, and since the two wires look alike I must have switched them. The black wire going to L-1 has a blue cover. The picture I took before I started removing wires shows a (thinner) black wire with a blue cover, so I'm sure I got that in the right place. If the thick black wire with red cover coming from the motor doesn't go to Spare-2 I don't know where else it could go.
According to the schematic:
The schematic shows a total of SIX wires

Here is what I see:

The 6 wires from the fan motor:

Black (HI)--Goes to COOL
Yellow (MED)--Goes to Spare-2
ORANGE--Goes to SPARE-1
Blue(MED-LO)--Goes to HI-HEAT
Red (LO)--Goes to LO-HEAT


White (On outer edge of blower motor in schematic)---Goes to
BLWR terminal

The white wire from the 120V of the transformer goes to a terminal not marked on schematic. in the "Neutral Block". I believe it is PR-2

The black wire to L-1 should be coming from the blower door switch

Look in the bottom right hand corner of the last diagram I posted and look for the circle (represents blower motor). That shows where each wire comes out of the motor and attach to the terminals.

Last edited by firedawgsatx; 09-18-2013 at 03:28 PM.
firedawgsatx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 03:33 PM   #39
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 111
Rewards Points: 77
Default

Something keeps running on A/C


Try this drawing to see if it helps
Attached Thumbnails
Something keeps running on A/C-carrierwiringa.jpg   Something keeps running on A/C-carrierwiringb.jpg  

Last edited by firedawgsatx; 09-18-2013 at 04:24 PM.
firedawgsatx is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to firedawgsatx For This Useful Post:
miscrap (09-18-2013)
Old 09-18-2013, 04:37 PM   #40
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 111
Rewards Points: 77
Default

Something keeps running on A/C


Quote:
So it would make sense that the thick black wire with red top coming from the motor would go to Spare-2, and the thinner black wire with red top coming from the transformer would go to PR-1. Right?
To get your wiring back to the way it should be you have to follow the schematic EXACTLY.

The wire that goes to Spare-2 should be the thick yellow wire coming from the motor.

Yes, the black wire going to the transformer should be connected to the PR-1 terminal.

The wire on L-1 should be coming from the blower door switch.

Last edited by firedawgsatx; 09-18-2013 at 04:40 PM.
firedawgsatx is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to firedawgsatx For This Useful Post:
miscrap (09-18-2013)
Old 09-18-2013, 05:10 PM   #41
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Something keeps running on A/C


For some reason my wiring seems to be different. I knew I couldn't have screwed up that bad, and since we knew that the black transformer wire should go to PR-1, and Yuri said the Spare terminals were for unused motor leads, and I had my black motor lead going to PR-1, and they looked alike, I just went in and swapped them. Flipped on the circuit breaker, held down the blower door switch, and in a couple seconds the LED came on - solid. Put the door on and flipped the a/c on at the thermostat, and it started cooling. I even kicked on the heat, despite the fact that it's 80 degrees here, and the burners went on, then the fan. So all is good. Not sure why my wiring is a little different than the schematic. I put the cover back on, so I don't have all the wiring info, but the yellow wire is definitely not going to Spare-2; the black motor wire is going there. When we had the furnace & a/c installed my wife complained about the noise - the furnace is in a utility closet downstairs, directly below the return in my living room. When the a/c went on the fan sounded like a jet engine. I called the installer back and he did something with the wiring to slow the fan down. It's still kind of loud, but not nearly as bad. Don't know if that's why the wiring doesn't exactly match up to the schematic.

Anyway, everything seems to be working the way it should now, thanks to you guys. I can't thank you enough for all your help. If you're ever in the Chicago burbs I owe you both a beer. Or two.
miscrap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 05:15 PM   #42
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 111
Rewards Points: 77
Default

Something keeps running on A/C


That is really great! Glad you are back up and running. Yes, the schematic was definitely different. The schematic that a person should go by is the one that came with the unit at the time of installation as there are a lot of revisions along the way. Normally you can find it on the unit itself or in the documentation.
firedawgsatx is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to firedawgsatx For This Useful Post:
miscrap (09-18-2013)
Old 09-18-2013, 05:18 PM   #43
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,137
Rewards Points: 912
Default

Something keeps running on A/C


Yeah, I was looking at a mta diagram and there are some differences between the ctas etc. glad you got it going.

Advertisement

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to yuri For This Useful Post:
miscrap (09-18-2013)
Reply

Tags
carrier ac , carrier furnace , led code


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Condenser fan was running backwards until I ... justplumducky HVAC 8 06-25-2013 09:16 PM
Sound of Water Running in Pipes rpishotti Plumbing 4 12-06-2010 01:09 AM
Basement *VENTING* AND running entire new drain lines. 57_Hemi Plumbing 6 09-30-2010 10:00 PM
Why is Inducer Fan Running? artbuc HVAC 3 07-31-2010 10:39 AM
taco 700 constantly running.... drizzyboy HVAC 3 11-27-2007 08:03 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts