Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-10-2009, 01:35 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Share |
Default

snyder general 90% gas furnace


i have a 21 yr old 90% furnace never used model number is (guh075a012in) and only1 of the three burners come on i was woundering if i had to big of a air in take three inch pvc comeing in
t3rr3nc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 02:25 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 440
Default

snyder general 90% gas furnace


Sounds more like a gas issue. Do you have lp or nat gas? Could also be obstructed burners or orfices.
SKIP4661 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 06:38 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Default

snyder general 90% gas furnace


natrual gas and if i light the other two it will come on
t3rr3nc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 06:58 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Default

snyder general 90% gas furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by SKIP4661 View Post
Sounds more like a gas issue. Do you have lp or nat gas? Could also be obstructed burners or orfices.
nat and if i light it the othere two come on
t3rr3nc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 09:23 PM   #5
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

snyder general 90% gas furnace


What do you mean "never used".

What you have is a corroded cross over and burners.

Assuming I am getting what you say (try using some freaking periods. makes it easier to read) the furnace was never used before. Correct?

Either way it has corrosion like i said and the burners cannot be field corrected.

I am a dealer for that brand (now owned by icp) and can speak authoritatively.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 09:28 PM   #6
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

snyder general 90% gas furnace


http://www.expertappliance.com/partfinder.php



heres the link.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 12:05 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Lightbulb

snyder general 90% gas furnace


ok,
what should i clean it whit ?
it is a three burner furnace,
the one on the right will light on and go off in about htree sec if i light the other then they will stay on.
t3rr3nc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 08:17 AM   #8
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

snyder general 90% gas furnace


Read what I said.

Not field correctable. The burners were a bad design and corroded shut and stopped pass gas.

The burners are precision formed opening; they cant be drilled out or brushed out or the burner openings will be made too large and will pass more gas than is safe.
That means you have an explosion hazard.


You need to buy new burners.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 01:59 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Question

snyder general 90% gas furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
Read what I said.

Not field correctable. The burners were a bad design and corroded shut and stopped pass gas.

The burners are precision formed opening; they cant be drilled out or brushed out or the burner openings will be made too large and will pass more gas than is safe.
That means you have an explosion hazard.


You need to buy new burners.
do you know if the burners are sold as assamble.
and is it worth it?
t3rr3nc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 04:42 PM   #10
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

snyder general 90% gas furnace


For what they want for the burners at that link I would have a tech install them. Probably cost about $300 to have a tech do it. But he will make sure the rest of the furnace is ok.

That model was a pain in the ass, not many of them around now. Had lots of issues.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 01:45 AM
snyder general gas furnace problem john duchaine HVAC 1 10-29-2008 05:31 PM
Snyder General Gas Furnace - No Gas to the ignitor Hanela HVAC 5 12-04-2006 11:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.