Smartvalve Pilot Adjustment - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-22-2013, 10:14 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

smartvalve pilot adjustment


I have a natural gas furnace that I just replaced the Honeywell sv9541 smartvalve in. The igniter/ flame rod sensor was replaced at the same time but it seems as though the flame rod is not proving the flame. The pilot seems as though the flame may be too strong. The directions stated that the pilot comes preadjusted to fully open. It does state how to adjust it by turning the pilot adjustment screw, but it does not show where this screw is in the figure it refers to. Can anyone tell me what screw this is before I start guessing.

Advertisement

crasen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 10:21 AM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,094
Rewards Points: 826
Default

smartvalve pilot adjustment


Usually DIRECTLY next to where the pilot tubing attaches to the valve there is a aluminum cap you unscrew. I have never had that problem and the bigger the flame the better as it needs to cover lots of the flame sensor. I suspect the wiring harness is not plugged in properly at the valve. unplug it and try again.

Where did U get the valve? not from Z Bay I hope. It may be used and repackaged and faulty. Only safe place is from a heating supplier.

Advertisement

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 09-22-2013 at 10:24 AM.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to yuri For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (09-22-2013)
Old 09-22-2013, 11:35 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

smartvalve pilot adjustment


There is a large phillips screw next to the pilot tube, Removing the screw exposed a small flathead set screw, I imagine that is what is used to adjust the pilot. The new smartvalve is actually acting the same as the old one did. The pilot would light, the flame rod would get red hot but the main burner would not light. I will take another look at the wiring diagram to make sure I had checked all the safety switches to make sure none of those are faulty. The new valve was purchased from an online hvac parts supplier.
crasen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 10:19 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,624
Rewards Points: 2,562
Default

smartvalve pilot adjustment


agree with yuri never had to adjust a pilot on a smartvalve ...but they had alot of problems with connector and the valve itself...ben sr
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ben's plumbing For This Useful Post:
beenthere (09-23-2013)
Old 09-22-2013, 11:31 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

smartvalve pilot adjustment


For awhile the pilot light stopped working. It appeared to work intermittently when I pushed on the connector for the igniter/ flame rod. Oddly enough the igniter would glow red regardless of whether I was pushing on the connector though. I am assuming that there is a loose solder joint inside the valve that was only working when pressure was applied to it. I did get the pilot adjusted even though it probably was not needed and a few seconds after the pilot lights the main burner lights. I cycled the furnace several times and it seems to be working properly but I am not convinced it will be reliable.
crasen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 09:08 AM   #6
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,094
Rewards Points: 826
Default

smartvalve pilot adjustment


that is a VERY common problem with them and no it won't be reliable.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to yuri For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (09-24-2013)
Old 09-23-2013, 04:15 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

smartvalve pilot adjustment


Thanks for the input, for the time being I will keep testing the furnace in the morning and nights even though it is not really needed yet. I am afraid it will keep working until it is actually needed. It is how things seem to go most of the time.
crasen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 04:18 PM   #8
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,094
Rewards Points: 826
Default

smartvalve pilot adjustment


I would return the valve for another. unlikely 2 new ones will be duds.

Advertisement

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can a standing pilot use electronic ignition? richapple HVAC 20 11-27-2012 12:45 AM
Gas Water Heater w/ Electric ignition - no pilot Sparkus Plumbing 0 12-24-2011 06:10 AM
Pilot on Williams millivolt wall heater goes out every 8 to 16 hours wornways HVAC 30 06-22-2011 04:29 PM
Pilot light button on furnace won't turn whydonchathen HVAC 5 10-06-2008 12:03 AM
heat turns pilot light off tclarkmd HVAC 3 10-12-2007 10:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts