Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-19-2010, 06:45 PM   #16
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,772
Share |
Default

Sizing and installing Ductwork.


Looks real good.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2010, 06:24 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 24
Default

Sizing and installing Ductwork.


I have begun to install the main drain line. If you look at pic, it will continue through the wall and out side. Will it be good, the way I have it currently set or does the tubing have to be level. I was thinking of it w a slight decline. -nothing is glued, and I will also be installing the secondary e-drain pan-
thanks..
Attached Thumbnails
Sizing and installing Ductwork.-dsc01871.jpg   Sizing and installing Ductwork.-dsc01870.jpg  
50juan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2010, 06:27 PM   #18
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,772
Default

Sizing and installing Ductwork.


The drain line needs 1/4" slope per foot toward the direction of flow.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
50juan (06-26-2010)
Old 06-26-2010, 07:15 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: MI
Posts: 37
Default

Sizing and installing Ductwork.


Manufacturers often recommend a drop of about -inch per foot; the code allows for 1/8 -inch per foot
gena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2010, 08:09 AM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lee county FL
Posts: 390
Default

Sizing and installing Ductwork.


Thanks for posting the pictures, I am trying to figure my way through this and they really help.
On the AH hangers, would it be better to place the down rod on the right hand side where it does not block the coil, for eventual maintanance??
Should the drain line have a clean out in it?? JIm
jjrbus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2010, 08:15 AM   #21
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,772
Default

Sizing and installing Ductwork.


With his set up. If the coil ever has to be pulled. The blower can be removed to get the coil out.

A clean out is never a bad idea on a drain line.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
jjrbus (06-27-2010)
Old 06-27-2010, 08:37 AM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lee county FL
Posts: 390
Default

Sizing and installing Ductwork.


Simple!! Life is not confusing, I just make it that way. I also noticed there is no drain pan. Sorry about all the questions, but expireing minds need to know. JIm
jjrbus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2010, 08:42 AM   #23
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,772
Default

Sizing and installing Ductwork.


I'm guessing he will add that after the duct work is all connected.

Its often easier to install it after the duct work, then to work around the pan. Just have to install the all thread in the horizontal supports, and then suspend the pan, and either pipe its drain, or install a wet switch.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2010, 10:09 AM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lee county FL
Posts: 390
Default

Sizing and installing Ductwork.


So I will need 2 drains. One for the built in pan and one for the external pan? Me and Sgt. Schultz "we know nothing" JIm
jjrbus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2010, 10:14 AM   #25
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,772
Default

Sizing and installing Ductwork.


If you use a wet switch. You don't need a second drain for the secondary/overflow pan. if you don't use a wet switch, then you need a second drain.

The secondary/emergency/overflow drain. Is suppose to terminate somewhere. that when it is draining water, you notice it right away. So you know there is a problem.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2010, 10:23 AM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 141
Default

Sizing and installing Ductwork.


Quote:
Originally Posted by 50juan View Post
Hello, I have a home that is less than 1000 sq ft. Single Story in Oregon. I have decided to take the task of installing a split air system. I want to first intall the air handler w a 10kw heat element( lack of $$) then at a later time add the condenser. From what I have gathered I purchased a handler 1.5-2 ton this one> http://www.coburns.com/Images/PDFs/FRIGIDAIRE-B4VMX.PDF
Im perrty handy but can anyone point me in the right direction to get started with the ductwork. I was thinking of running it through the attic, but unsure.. Here is an image of what I thought.. Any ideas would help..

Yeah,thas an attic job

hers's your t-wyes....12x10x10,10x8x7,10x9x8,9x8x7,9x7x7,8x7x6,8 x7x6,7x6x5
12" return
Marbledust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2010, 06:01 PM   #27
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 24
Default

Sizing and installing Ductwork.


Quote:
Originally Posted by jjrbus View Post
Thanks for posting the pictures, I am trying to figure my way through this and they really help.
On the AH hangers, would it be better to place the down rod on the right hand side where it does not block the coil, for eventual maintanance??
Should the drain line have a clean out in it?? JIm
Yes, you are right, the AH would have been better on the right side. I am limited in spacing, so I figured, when I and if I needed to service the coil I can remove the support and prop it with a 2x4.

re: the clean out, should that be before or after the trap.
50juan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2010, 06:07 PM   #28
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,772
Default

Sizing and installing Ductwork.


If you remove the ell at the unit. And use a Tee instead, it works out good for the clean out.

Should have a vent just pass the trap, if its going to be a long drain line.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
50juan (06-30-2010)
Old 07-01-2010, 07:26 AM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lee county FL
Posts: 390
Default

Sizing and installing Ductwork.


2X4 works for me JIm
jjrbus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2010, 09:17 PM   #30
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 24
Default

Sizing and installing Ductwork.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Marbledust View Post
Yeah,thas an attic job

hers's your t-wyes....12x10x10,10x8x7,10x9x8,9x8x7,9x7x7,8x7x6,8 x7x6,7x6x5
12" return
Marbledust.
Sorry, what is the above mentioned wyes. lost me

50juan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
French Doors - sizing is off by 1" - What do I do? mikedavid00 Building & Construction 7 03-26-2010 10:40 AM
Header Sizing IDIY Carpentry 12 03-02-2010 02:47 PM
Installing Light Fixtures in Bath mrsjande Electrical 8 09-03-2009 02:19 PM
Sizing Of Ventilation Duct rjordan392 HVAC 3 05-18-2009 08:06 AM
wire sizing for wall heater? gerhops Electrical 22 09-21-2008 09:59 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.