Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-17-2012, 10:16 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

size of unit per sq ft


If i have a 4 level home basement first and second floor and attic, if the first and second floor is about 4700 sq ft in a brick home built in early 1900's what size central unit do i need?

ddavis14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 10:26 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,110
Rewards Points: 3,338
Default

size of unit per sq ft


That's not how it's sized, better start making some calls to some pro for help on this one.

joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 10:39 PM   #3
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

size of unit per sq ft


Quote:
Originally Posted by ddavis14 View Post
If i have a 4 level home basement first and second floor and attic, if the first and second floor is about 4700 sq ft in a brick home built in early 1900's what size central unit do i need?
A lot of research has been done in determining the proper size HVAC equipment. It's available here.......ACME.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 03:32 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Augusta, GA
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 250
Default

size of unit per sq ft


The standard rule of thumb is 600 sqft per ton, but as others have said you should really, really get a load calculation done on a house like that. So many factors come into play - insulation level, type of construction, window/door type and condition - that you really cannot SWAG something like this.
scottmcd9999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 05:04 AM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,643
Rewards Points: 2,966
Default

size of unit per sq ft


You can use HVAC CALC and find out what size so you don't end up having to come back and ask what to do about high humidity, or not getting cool enough questions.

In Arizona 600 sq ft per ton on an old house with little to know envelope improvements would give you problems getting down to 86 on a hot day. In Washington state, it would give you high humidity problems.

HVAC CALC has a 50 dollar license fee to get the load results. It can save you more then that in just aggravation, let alone unit and duct problems.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Drain line plugged on air handler unit - need advice spta97 HVAC 19 07-26-2011 07:50 PM
Old carrier unit trouble hdbg62 HVAC 18 06-29-2011 08:57 PM
Physical size of Central AC unit Marjorie HVAC 2 06-20-2010 06:43 AM
Need help determining the size of an upstairs HVAC unit BigE516 HVAC 11 03-17-2009 03:25 PM
wire size for ac/heating forced air unit macfluke Electrical 2 03-04-2009 12:29 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.