Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-22-2007, 12:42 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Should I use 2 Furnace Humidifiers?


I have a fantastic Carrier Infinity 96 System with the Infnity Controller and an Aprilaire 600 Humidifier. I love the system!!!

But because my house is so old and leaky the AprilAire keeps on running, Using more and more water down the drain(as it is the one with the humidifier panel) the humidity doesn't reach the automatic setting that the controller sets (Normally around 35%)

I Know that I should insulate and caulk the house, but that is in the distant future. Should I put in a second humidifier?? Would the create problems with the furnace or A/C?

Thank you.

Adrianjohnm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2007, 07:12 AM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Should I use 2 Furnace Humidifiers?


Install a steam humidifier, Will create humidity even if furnace is not calling for heat.

chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2007, 08:01 PM   #3
Union HVAC Tech.
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 607
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Should I use 2 Furnace Humidifiers?


35% is too high a setting. I second the steam unit.
bigMikeB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2007, 02:13 PM   #4
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Should I use 2 Furnace Humidifiers?


Quote:
Originally Posted by bigMikeB View Post
35% is too high a setting. I second the steam unit.

I keep my house at 40%, feels comfortable to me and no condensation on the windows... I also use a honeywell humidistat with an outdoor sensor so I dont need to keep adjusting the humidistat.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2007, 03:30 PM   #5
Union HVAC Tech.
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 607
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Should I use 2 Furnace Humidifiers?


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris75 View Post
I keep my house at 40%, feels comfortable to me and no condensation on the windows... I also use a honeywell humidistat with an outdoor sensor so I dont need to keep adjusting the humidistat.

Most houses will do fine at @68F and 25-30%rh. I have never seen any place other than a computer suite run at 40%.
bigMikeB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2007, 10:43 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Red face

Should I use 2 Furnace Humidifiers?


I should mention I live in Toronto Ontario. The winters are pretty cold and dry here.

Some have mentioned that 35% humidity is alot.

I don't know, but everywhere that I read, including Canadian Mortage and Housing Corp. suggest that 35 - 40% huidity is the best rating,.

My humidifier can hardly keep it aound 26% because the house is so old and drafty.

I will look into the steam hunidifier,

Thanks all.

Living cold be comfy in Toronto...Thanks to my Carruer Infii

Adrianjohnm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heil Furnace Burner Problem timothyr HVAC 79 02-12-2014 07:01 PM
Furnace not firing jax HVAC 5 02-22-2009 12:41 PM
furnace and or electrical problems tuasoi General DIY Discussions 4 11-29-2007 12:50 PM
Replacing My Furnace, few simple questions compression HVAC 10 02-03-2007 05:00 PM
Tie-in of a Coleman electric furnace nilo HVAC 9 01-03-2007 03:45 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.