Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-12-2010, 06:43 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1
Share |
Question

Should I replace my r22 unit


My compresor went out on my 3 1/2 ton r22 ac unit. A very good friend of mine who works for a very reputable company for many many years game a couple of options. 1. He can get me a used unit similar working used unit for $250 and he would charge me $150 labor. 2. Upgrade to the new enviromentaly friendly units and replace the whole system. He would charge me about $400 for the labor if I buy the new ac unit my self since he says that is whole lot more work. He would take me where his company buys the ac units and I can buy it for what ever his company pays for them, he did says prices vary.

He is not involved in actually paying for the parts he usually just goes to pick them up. My question is what is the cost of a new enviromentally 3 1/2 ton friendly unit that used gas for heating to a AC repair company? Is there a big price difference between brands?

Now before you start thinking all sort of bad things about my friend I have known him since high school and he also married my cousing.


Last edited by gilm99; 08-12-2010 at 08:12 PM. Reason: I live in San Antonio - My house is 10 years old all original equipment
gilm99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 07:20 PM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,909
Default

Should I replace my r22 unit


Thats like asking what is the price of a fuel efficient car. LOTS of variables and brands and models to choose from. There is a big price difference and difference in quality between brands. He should be able to drop in there and get some prices to narrow it down for you. I am sure his supplier only has access to a couple of brands anyway. We don't do brand choosing here as all of us have our favorites and don't agree on one. Proper maintenance is just as important as brand. Some of the more expensive ones have longer compressor warranties and are built heavier/quieter and more sturdy. You get what you pay for.

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 08-12-2010 at 07:23 PM.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 07:25 PM   #3
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,728
Default

Should I replace my r22 unit


I do not see where you stated the age of the air handler, nor the outside condenser unit.

I did enjoy this part "Now before you start thinking all sort of bad things about my friend I have known him since high school and he also married my cousing"
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 07:27 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,387
Default

Should I replace my r22 unit


You ain't gonna get a unit for what his company pays for them. You will be charged a higher price.

A company that does 50,000 dollars in business with a parts house. Pays more for their units then a company that does 500,000 dollars business.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 07:30 PM   #5
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,728
Default

Should I replace my r22 unit


I got mine at cost for a 2 ton, same with the A-Coil. Only thing is, it was through a private individual that is licensed for HVAC & owns rentals. Labor is what is going to get me for the lines to be hooked up, since everything else was done by me for the majority.
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2010, 04:28 AM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,387
Default

Should I replace my r22 unit


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
I got mine at cost for a 2 ton, same with the A-Coil. Only thing is, it was through a private individual that is licensed for HVAC & owns rentals. Labor is what is going to get me for the lines to be hooked up, since everything else was done by me for the majority.
Cost is a misleading term.

His cost is most likely much higher then a large companies cost.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2010, 06:34 AM   #7
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,728
Default

Should I replace my r22 unit


Yes, depending on who you purchase it through.

gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
old ac unit, r22, replace, system


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
$1440+ labor only repair on 3 yr. old Goodman unit!?! JMK HVAC 23 05-06-2012 10:45 AM
Replacing a condensing unit with a higher SEER rating unit tylanz HVAC 3 06-28-2010 04:44 PM
AC Window Unit Size, 10k or 12k? Tuksonrider HVAC 7 06-17-2010 11:35 PM
Help with Replacing a Roof in Arizona where the AC Unit is mounted on the Roof ! stevekevin Roofing/Siding 7 05-23-2010 11:55 PM
Central Air Outside Unit Cover czars HVAC 2 01-07-2009 10:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.