Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-24-2009, 11:30 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 29
Share |
Default

Should I relocate my AC unit to build a deck?


My air-conditioning unit is sitting outside the house right where I want to build a deck. Can I build over the AC unit, or should I move it?

tom_matthews is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2009, 11:36 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Should I relocate my AC unit to build a deck?


How far off the ground will the deck be?
Will there be enough room to walk under & service the AC
If not the AC needs to be moved

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2009, 12:48 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 29
Default

Should I relocate my AC unit to build a deck?


the deck will be about 1.5 to 2 feet over the unit. I was wondering how much free space for airflow I need to maintain around the unit.
tom_matthews is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2009, 12:52 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Should I relocate my AC unit to build a deck?


I'd worry more about HVAC guy getting in there to make repairs or service the unit. I'm not sure how much space they need. But I don't think I'd want one that close under the deck
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2009, 01:08 PM   #5
Handyguy
 
Brik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: SE PA
Posts: 803
Send a message via Skype™ to Brik
Default

Should I relocate my AC unit to build a deck?


I agree with Dave - Figure the shroud may need to be removed some day and that lifts up as I recall. So, if you unit is 2' tall i would not build a deck unless you have at least 2' clearance from the top of the unit. Really - do what the manufacturer recommends for clearance.

Also - consider sound and air. the outside units are noisy, do you want that under your deck? They also blow warm air, that air will blow up people skirts.

Last edited by Brik; 06-24-2009 at 01:43 PM.
Brik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2009, 01:26 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 368
Default

Should I relocate my AC unit to build a deck?


Why chance it.

Suppose you do build over the unit and discover the system is no longer cooling adequately. Now you've got twice the work to either move the unit or the deck. And I bet an HVAC guy looking at that job will quote you higher to accommodate all the bumps on his head.
dac122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2009, 01:35 PM   #7
Member
 
sktn77a's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 259
Default

Should I relocate my AC unit to build a deck?


Most manufacturers specify at least 60 inches uninterrupted clearance above the condensers.
sktn77a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2009, 01:40 PM   #8
30 year tech
 
hvac122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Posts: 427
Default

Should I relocate my AC unit to build a deck?


Ditto. Do not build unless there is at least 5' above unit. And expect to pay more for it to be serviced. Move it someplace where it can breath.
hvac122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2009, 01:43 PM   #9
Handyguy
 
Brik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: SE PA
Posts: 803
Send a message via Skype™ to Brik
Default

Should I relocate my AC unit to build a deck?


no comments on the upskirt consideration?
Brik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2009, 02:31 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Should I relocate my AC unit to build a deck?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Brik View Post
no comments on the upskirt consideration?

They also blow warm air, that air will blow up people skirts.
You said that like it was bad thing
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2009, 03:00 PM   #11
DIY'r
 
ScottR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hicksville, NY (Yes, it's an actual town).
Posts: 520
Default

Should I relocate my AC unit to build a deck?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Brik View Post
no comments on the upskirt consideration?
Can't even implement that feature with my unit..

ScottR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2009, 07:22 PM   #12
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,000
Default

Should I relocate my AC unit to build a deck?


She can ride shotgun in my van anytime!
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2009, 07:32 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Should I relocate my AC unit to build a deck?


Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottR View Post
Can't even implement that feature with my unit..
So what's wrong with your "unit"

If you look at the prior pic, And then read that comment

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2009, 08:12 PM   #14
Member
 
Home Air Direct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 297
Default

Should I relocate my AC unit to build a deck?


New units are quiet............until you sit on top of one And, if they are working properly, they blow hot air....UP (yes, even those funny looking Tranes You really don't want that if you are going to spend any time all on your deck, during "being on the deck time of year".

When I moved in this house nine years ago (it was my girlfriend's) she had a deck built over the AC. It was one of those horizontal chrysler airtemp's. It was insanely loud, and the heat was unbearable. As soon as it died, which I think was hastened by the fact it was trapped under the deck, I moved it around the side of the house.

Don't do it.

__________________
Settle down! If you were that important, the city would give you lights and a siren for your car
Home Air Direct is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't get unit to turn on need electrical help please-wiring diagram included igotshocked Electrical 33 01-30-2014 05:13 AM
Building a new deck....and creative uses of granite scrap in outdoor living space Rhizzlebop Building & Construction 9 05-15-2009 11:17 AM
DougFir Deck - Stain Before or After build? mntnvew Carpentry 14 04-15-2009 07:33 PM
Fire pit build over existing concrete deck - am I headed for trouble? mitchcos Building & Construction 10 04-15-2009 07:26 AM
Anyone ever build a deck above the outside hatchway? JT Rock General DIY Discussions 2 04-04-2009 01:09 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.