Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-12-2007, 09:24 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Should I move the 2nd floor thermostat?


My second floor thermostat is located in the 2nd floor hall. The problem I am having is that heat from the first floor is rising up the stairs into the 2nd floor hall, and causing the 2nd floor thermostat to not come on much. Meanwhile, the bedrooms are freezing while the hall is nice and warm (from the first floor heat).

I was thinking about moving the thermostat into the master bedroom (which is one of the ones that is cold). Can anyone think of any problems caused by this? We often sleep with the door closed (due to my cats trying to keep us awake).

phareous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2007, 10:41 AM   #2
I have gas!
 
Clutchcargo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,780
Rewards Points: 1,012
Default

Should I move the 2nd floor thermostat?


The master bedroom is where I plan to put my second zone thermostat. That's where it makes the most sense. I'm guessing that your hallway probably isn't heated since it is most likely in the middle of the house. It makes no sense to put a thermostat in an area that is unheated.

__________________
I tear things down and build them up.
Clutchcargo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2007, 10:49 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Should I move the 2nd floor thermostat?


Well the area is heated...there is a duct on the other side of the hall... the stairs come up between the thermostat and this duct. There is also a laundry room near the thermostat too. However, our bonus room, master bedroom, and master bath stay cold in the winter. On the other side of the house are 2 bedrooms and a bathroom - I haven't checked the temperature of those since nobody uses them but I suspect they are cold too.

I already know I need to redo the ducts because its not even (they used the same size duct in all rooms, even though the master bedroom and bonus room are huge (versus the small laundry room and small bathrooms). Plus they used one big loop... which means the rooms at the end of the loop get the least air flow. The a/c guy who came last time said I ought to have it redone to be a Y so the air flow is more balanced.

But I am trying to tackle things one item at a time. I've been working on adding insulation. Next up is proper location of the thermostat.
phareous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2007, 10:54 AM   #4
I have gas!
 
Clutchcargo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,780
Rewards Points: 1,012
Default

Should I move the 2nd floor thermostat?


I was thinking hydronic baseboard.
Still you want to control the temperature the room you in. I can not think of reasons why you would not want the t-stat in the master bedroom.
__________________
I tear things down and build them up.
Clutchcargo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can a newbie move over a washing machine? yummy mummy Plumbing 17 02-15-2007 07:31 AM
Need to move a tub drain to line up with a new tub, is it ok to do this... *PICS* J187 Plumbing 6 05-22-2006 11:13 PM
need to move existing light. surfsupinhawaii Electrical 6 12-31-2005 08:54 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.