Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-04-2012, 03:32 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Should the evaporator coil be installed 6" above the furnace?


I'm looking for a dealer to install a AC. Had talked with several. One of them told me that the evaporator coil should be installed 6" above the furnace opening, but the cased coil doesn't, so don't use the cased coil. Is this true?

lameon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 03:49 PM   #2
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,876
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

Should the evaporator coil be installed 6" above the furnace?


Not exactly sure of what you mean. Is this a vertical upflow system? Any pics you can provide?

__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 03:55 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Should the evaporator coil be installed 6" above the furnace?


I don't have any pics, since it has not been installed yet.

I think my furnace is a upflow system. Heated air comes up direct above the furnace and the returning air comes in from the side of the bottom of the furnace.

As I know, a evaporator coil would be installed in side the duct just above the furnace. Someone said that there should be a 6" clearance, is this true?
lameon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 04:02 PM   #4
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,876
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

Should the evaporator coil be installed 6" above the furnace?


If it's an upflow you don't have a choice in the matter. The evaporator coil will sit butted up directly on top of the furnace cabinet and that is factory install, no spacing required. And I'm not certain what you mean by the coil sitting inside of the duct other than sometimes the case/cabinet of a box coil is removed and the actual supply air plenum is put over the entire thing, with ducts running from it. It still sits at the exact same heigth with or without the case, directly sitting on top of the furnace.

Not the best way, cased coil is factory, but it has been done and it will work.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 04:07 PM   #5
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,876
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

Should the evaporator coil be installed 6" above the furnace?


Btw, people tend to remove the casing of the coil when they don't have the correct size dimensions to match up to the furnace. Three sides, the left, right and the back casing of an upflow evaporator coil should be FLUSH to the same three sides of the furnace. The front side will sit back on top of the furnace, behind the flue pipe.

Your furnace has a lip on the top so the evaporator fits perfectly onto it.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Doc Holliday For This Useful Post:
lameon (06-04-2012)
Old 06-04-2012, 04:08 PM   #6
REP
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 615
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Should the evaporator coil be installed 6" above the furnace?


It is reccomended that when installing an evap on an oil furnace that it be at least 5" above the furnace.
I have never seen any simuliar reccomendation for gas or elec furnaces.
REP is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to REP For This Useful Post:
Doc Holliday (06-04-2012), lameon (06-04-2012)
Old 06-04-2012, 04:27 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Should the evaporator coil be installed 6" above the furnace?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Holliday View Post
And I'm not certain what you mean by the coil sitting inside of the duct other than sometimes the case/cabinet of a box coil is removed and the actual supply air plenum is put over the entire thing, with ducts running from it.

Not the best way, cased coil is factory, but it has been done and it will work.
Thanks Doc! When I say duct, I mean the plenum. In this case, they call it uncased coil.

lameon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heil Furnace Burner Problem timothyr HVAC 79 02-12-2014 08:01 PM
Furnace Interlocking for HRV mk5tdi HVAC 6 11-24-2013 09:19 PM
Quote for new furnace. Reasonable? dengle HVAC 16 03-04-2012 08:01 AM
armstrong furnace problems snipe609 HVAC 1 01-29-2011 10:25 AM
Problem with Lennox Pulse Furnace Wiring to Thermostat scalvin Electrical 4 12-30-2009 08:48 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.