Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-12-2013, 08:06 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 205
Share |
Exclamation

Separete Zone for Home Theatre


Looked through the manual and understand it to a point. Was hoping to get some "polishing" from you guys.

http://www.smarthome.com/3038A/Resid...troller/p.aspx

Could this be installed to independently control the temperature and CFM of the HT completely separate from the rest of the house with it's own thermostat?

Thanks.

Mijotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 05:01 AM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,541
Default

Separete Zone for Home Theatre


Yes, along with the associated motorized dampers and bypass damper.

__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 01:42 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 205
Default

Separete Zone for Home Theatre


Is this something a DIY'er could pull off or would I need a professional? What would I be looking at for cost of said motorized dampers and bypass dampers?
Mijotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 02:04 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,541
Default

Separete Zone for Home Theatre


A DIYer can do it. cost will vary by brand, and supplier. Best to look on line and see what it will cost you.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 02:09 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 205
Default

Separete Zone for Home Theatre


Wow so I could have a thermostat put in the theatre room and control the temp and air flow without messing with the house's?
Mijotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 02:34 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 205
Default

Separete Zone for Home Theatre


Would I also have to duct in a supply and return to the room from this unit as well? Does the unit get hooked up to the main furnace somehow?
Mijotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 02:58 PM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,541
Default

Separete Zone for Home Theatre


You would have a motorized damper for the theater room, and one for the rest of the house(presuming that you are making a trunk line just for the theater room). Along with a bypass damper and duct.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 03:16 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 205
Default

Separete Zone for Home Theatre


oh ok, so when I use the thermostat in the theater room the motorized damper opens right? What about a return? Just hooked up to the main return trunk of the furnace?
Mijotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 03:19 PM   #9
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,541
Default

Separete Zone for Home Theatre


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mijotter View Post
oh ok, so when I use the thermostat in the theater room the motorized damper opens right? What about a return? Just hooked up to the main return trunk of the furnace?
Yes,.

__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
duct, hvac, split, thermostat, zone


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Zone valve opens but doesn't fire boiler mikestorm5 HVAC 10 11-28-2012 08:57 AM
3rd zone not working properly MichaelChlopik HVAC 1 10-15-2010 05:59 PM
Adding new zone makapacs HVAC 0 11-26-2009 12:35 PM
need some help sorting out my new heating zone please wombosi Plumbing 3 04-23-2009 04:54 PM
help with third heat zone i just put in... wombosi HVAC 6 04-21-2009 12:02 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.