Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-24-2012, 11:36 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

sensor switch keeps tripping.


there is a switch(tiny button, mounted right over the burners) that is connected to what i believe is the vacumm sensor(its round). the switch keeps tripping. sometimes it can go a month without tripping, but most of the time it trips just 10 minutes after running. you just press it in and can start up the furnace again. I checked the exhaust/ motor, and it was still running after the unit tripped again. before it had tripped yesterday, the heater was running for a good month, i went to check it and the vacuum hose to the exhaust fan came off and thought this was the problem. reconnected the hose, reset the switch and started it up. 10 minutes later it shut off again.

Could this be a bad vacuum sensor? id like to get some more input before i go on top of the roof again. ill check the vacuum sensor with a multimeter.

Edit: the switch is a "roll out switch" any idea what the problem is? thanks


Last edited by ndang88; 12-24-2012 at 11:44 AM.
ndang88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 12:23 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

sensor switch keeps tripping.


Roll out switches tripping are almost always from a cracked heat exchanger.

Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Marty S. For This Useful Post:
ndang88 (12-26-2012)
Old 12-24-2012, 01:16 PM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,512
Default

sensor switch keeps tripping.


Yep, bad heat exchanger, or an obstruction in the flue.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
ndang88 (12-26-2012)
Old 12-24-2012, 02:12 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,256
Default

sensor switch keeps tripping.


yep agree with marty and bt...1 st check flue its the easiest...if its not clogged call a pro to have heat exchanger checked...ben sr
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ben's plumbing For This Useful Post:
ndang88 (12-26-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Garage breaker keeps tripping rhanson85 Electrical 5 07-19-2012 06:24 AM
GFCI problems...replacing an old one...now tripping. ams4life Electrical 7 06-17-2010 06:10 PM
New home AFCIs tripping geezer Electrical 18 01-14-2010 02:30 PM
Dead Breaker? and Nusiance Tripping... jasonblu Electrical 9 11-06-2009 06:13 PM
Tripping Wrong Breaker woodworksnmore@comcast.ne Electrical 15 03-28-2008 01:47 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.