Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-02-2011, 06:10 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 36
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Schedule 40 fitting help.


So I'e been to many big box stores in search of fittings. My manual calls for 3" vent and intake up until the exit to outside the 2". The problem I am running into is finding a schd 40 3"-2". None of the stores had schd 40 3"-2" but had it in DWV. Can that be used? One store person said that the dwv is schd40. Not sure what is ok to use.

Thanks,
Tim

MNice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 06:29 PM   #2
REP
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 615
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Schedule 40 fitting help.


DWV is a much thinner wall type fitting.
My question is are you sure you are supposed to reduce to 2" going through the wall?You might need such a fitting from the furnace but I'm thinking not at the wall.
That doesn't sound right to me.Call the factory to be sure.

REP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 06:35 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 36
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Schedule 40 fitting help.


Thats what thier manual says for a horizontal run.
MNice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 07:06 PM   #4
Doing it myself
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Crescent City, CA
Posts: 3,750
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via AIM to Alan Send a message via MSN to Alan
Default

Schedule 40 fitting help.


kinda sounds backwards to me.
__________________
Journeyman Plumber
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 07:39 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 36
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Schedule 40 fitting help.






MNice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 07:42 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 729
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Schedule 40 fitting help.


You will need to go to a plumbing supply store, or pool and spa supply. The dwv fittings don't last with heat applied to them.
Master of Cold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 07:46 PM   #7
HVAC Tech/ Browns Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dayton, ohio
Posts: 541
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Schedule 40 fitting help.


Do you have a ACE hardware? They sell that there or show them and can make on up at the store. P.S. don't take this the wrong way but that furnace is junk. I had seen the condensate heat exchanger leaks all the time. You really need make sure heat rise is right or after the first year it can crack a coil link.
Tator1076 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 07:58 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 36
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Schedule 40 fitting help.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tator1076 View Post
Do you have a ACE hardware? They sell that there or show them and can make on up at the store. P.S. don't take this the wrong way but that furnace is junk. I had seen the condensate heat exchanger leaks all the time. You really need make sure heat rise is right or after the first year it can crack a coil link.

Thanks for the info everyone. Glad it has 12yrs Warranty.
MNice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 08:01 PM   #9
HVAC Tech/ Browns Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dayton, ohio
Posts: 541
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Schedule 40 fitting help.


Do you know how to check heat rise?
Tator1076 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 08:05 PM   #10
Experienced
 
Jackofall1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern Michigan
Posts: 2,822
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Schedule 40 fitting help.


Why are you using 3" pipe, is it a long run?

Bullet #2 says "When using 3" pipe" my interpretation is the standard is 2" pipe unless the horizontal run is longer the x.

Is there a chart in that manual referencing exhaust lengths? if not then perhaps you could get that info from the manufacturer.

Mark
__________________
When its all said and done there is usually more said than done
Jackofall1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 08:05 PM   #11
REP
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 615
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Schedule 40 fitting help.


I'll be damned!!! What a screwey vent.
REP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 08:08 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 36
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Schedule 40 fitting help.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tator1076 View Post
Do you know how to check heat rise?
No. Is this something you dial in once the unit is up and running? I am having the HVAC company i bought the unit from to have them dial in the unit once it's up and running.
MNice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 08:09 PM   #13
HVAC Tech/ Browns Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dayton, ohio
Posts: 541
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Schedule 40 fitting help.


Heck if you have this in a basement just use basement for fresh air intake and just run the out take.
Tator1076 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 08:24 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 36
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Schedule 40 fitting help.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jackofall1 View Post
Why are you using 3" pipe, is it a long run?

Bullet #2 says "When using 3" pipe" my interpretation is the standard is 2" pipe unless the horizontal run is longer the x.

Is there a chart in that manual referencing exhaust lengths? if not then perhaps you could get that info from the manufacturer.

Mark


The Unit is 75k. The HVAC person I bought from said i could use 2" "IF" the run was short. I originally bought all the stuff for 2" but after looking at it i didn't feel comfortable with it so I decided to go 3". I need to go 4' vertical to get above my foundation and exit to the exterior. From that vertical the intake will be approx 44" before it is reduce to 2" and the exhaust will be approx 32" before it is reduce to 2".
MNice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 08:27 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 36
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Schedule 40 fitting help.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tator1076 View Post
Heck if you have this in a basement just use basement for fresh air intake and just run the out take.
i would but it changes the code requirement on where it can be located and the distance from windows and doors and im not sure the reasoning.


Last edited by MNice; 10-02-2011 at 08:32 PM.
MNice is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Copper Y fitting and cabinet install brneilly Plumbing 4 06-30-2011 09:13 AM
leaky copper fitting in supply line for fire sprinkler system tina2435 Plumbing 5 09-18-2009 09:54 PM
How to reuse a ABS fitting guide n0c7 Plumbing 4 08-27-2008 05:30 PM
Cracked PVC fitting in concrete DJupin Plumbing 6 07-29-2008 03:12 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.