Ruud Heat Strip Furnace Blower - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-05-2010, 03:13 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Ruud heat strip furnace blower


I am having trouble with a ruud heat strip furnace. Sometimes the blower will start fine as it is supposed to. Other times, it won't. I have upgraded the therm to a digital and the blower relay has been replaced. Still have the same intermittent problem. Any advise?

Tkelly

Advertisement

TKELLY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2010, 04:05 PM   #2
30 year tech
 
hvac122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Posts: 427
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Ruud heat strip furnace blower


Without knowing what model furnace or thermostat you have I will just guess. Is there a switch on the back of the thermostat for a option of gas or electric furnace? Otherwise it could be a sequencer not working right?

Advertisement

hvac122 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hvac122 For This Useful Post:
TKELLY (03-08-2010)
Old 03-08-2010, 10:04 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Ruud heat strip furnace blower


The problem began before I upgraded the stat. I don't have the model number available right now. Do all units have a sequencer? Is this all that would make the unit's blower not come on when it is supposed to when the relay and stat have been ruled out?
TKELLY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2010, 12:28 PM   #4
30 year tech
 
hvac122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Posts: 427
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Ruud heat strip furnace blower


How old is this air handler?

What model do you have? With this info maybe a Ruud person could answer your questions on what is controlling the fan.

Have you checked for power to the fan when it will not come on to see if it may be the fan is out on a overload?
hvac122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2010, 03:09 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Ruud heat strip furnace blower


The unit is about 15 yrs. old. Will get the model #. I will check for power to the motor when if acts up. Thanks again Lincoln.
TKELLY is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to stop auxillary heat from coming on defrost cycle and limit auxillary heat use? twilightcall HVAC 34 12-28-2010 07:53 PM
Goodman Heat Pump - Blower Motor FireFighter254 HVAC 9 03-05-2010 07:18 AM
Bizarre Heat Pump and Blower Behavior gatorinsc HVAC 3 01-11-2010 04:32 PM
Heat Pump Blower always on gg_daman HVAC 1 12-16-2009 07:15 AM
first time startup on Bryant furnace - furnace calls for heat and will not stop luvheat HVAC 22 02-14-2009 09:56 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts