Ruud Furnace - Thermostat Calls For Heat Fan Comes In Right Away/no Heat - HVAC - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-22-2009, 07:43 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Ruud furnace - Thermostat calls for heat fan comes in right away/no heat


Checks out fine. Water heater and furnace share 1 flu

Advertisement

Paul1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 07:48 PM   #17
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,472
Rewards Points: 504
Default

Ruud furnace - Thermostat calls for heat fan comes in right away/no heat


Do you have a volt meter?

Do you know what the pressure switch is?

The pressure switch is easy to locate. Off the inducer motor there will be a small rubber hose follow it to the switch

Take the DVOM and one lead to the furnace case the other lead touch each teminal of the pressure switch when there is a call for heat

You will need to set the meter to AC voltage. Voltage should be around 24 vac
__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 08:04 PM   #18
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,041
Rewards Points: 720
Default

Ruud furnace - Thermostat calls for heat fan comes in right away/no heat


Read the wiring diagram VERY carefully with a magnifying glass, there should be a list of those flash codes buried in the diagram.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 08:15 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Ruud furnace - Thermostat calls for heat fan comes in right away/no heat


I don't have the meter your referring to but I unplugged both terminals to the pressure switch and plugged them back in turn the power on and the furnace started normal. It is now running. We'll see if it continues to operate normal.
Paul1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 08:26 PM   #20
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,041
Rewards Points: 720
Default

Ruud furnace - Thermostat calls for heat fan comes in right away/no heat


DO NOT run the furnace that way!!! That pressure switch is a CRITICAL safety device. It proves proper draft thru the furnace. You can now get CO poisioning from improper combustion!! Check the venting for obstructions like Plumber said. You may have a problem with the circuit board . It should not start with the switch jumpered. Needs to see an open switch before it starts up.

Last edited by yuri; 10-22-2009 at 08:29 PM.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 08:38 PM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Ruud furnace - Thermostat calls for heat fan comes in right away/no heat


It's all hooked up correctly (the way it should be). Venting correctly. I have to wonder if the wires were somehow loose or not seating well. Pressure switch is plugged in correctly. Nothing unplugged or disconnected.
Paul1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 08:45 PM   #22
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,472
Rewards Points: 504
Default

Ruud furnace - Thermostat calls for heat fan comes in right away/no heat


I agree with Yuri to some degree

But, disconnecting the pressure switch may have knock loose what was causing the switch to stick

These switches are known for sticking and binding because of fine particles of lint or dirt

I would STRONGLY tell you to search either online or at a local HVAC contractor for this pressure switch and replace it.

On the switch there will be a part number and a number something like .38 inwc this number tells that it takes .38 inches water column to close the switch and the new switch needs to match if you go with a universal switch
__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 08:47 PM   #23
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,041
Rewards Points: 720
Default

Ruud furnace - Thermostat calls for heat fan comes in right away/no heat


Sorry for the excitement, I thought you jumpered them together. DIYers scare us at times. I have had to replace LOTS of those pressure switches. .3"WC I believe. Actually a Ruud ongoing problem with them set too low. Get a new pressure switch and thoroughly check the venting and chimney and buy 2 good CO detectors. One for your bedroom the other in the basement stairwell.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 08:53 PM   #24
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Ruud furnace - Thermostat calls for heat fan comes in right away/no heat


thanks to both for your help. I will take your advice on replacing the pressure switch and I have 1 CO det and will buy another and put in the bedrm.

thanks again,
Paul1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 08:58 PM   #25
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,472
Rewards Points: 504
Default

Ruud furnace - Thermostat calls for heat fan comes in right away/no heat


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
Sorry for the excitement, I thought you jumpered them together. DIYers scare us at times. I have had to replace LOTS of those pressure switches. .3"WC I believe. Actually a Ruud ongoing problem with them set too low. Get a new pressure switch and thoroughly check the venting and chimney and buy 2 good CO detectors. One for your bedroom the other in the basement stairwell.
Yuri,

If he jumped the two wire wouldn't he get a fault of pressure switch closed?

All the furnaces that I have checked out the control board needs to see an open circuit between cycles before it will allow furnace start up sequence.

Just curious we don't have alot of Ruud's around here and I'm not to keen on Ruud's. Granted all furnace start up squence's are basically the same just trying to learn more about Ruud's
__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 09:08 PM   #26
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,041
Rewards Points: 720
Default

Ruud furnace - Thermostat calls for heat fan comes in right away/no heat


I am not exactly sure what he is doing. I have seen a lot of Rheem/Ruud mids and they have problems with faulty pressure switches. Not to say that is the problem UNLESS the draft is checked properly with a manometer. Could be a cracked heat exchanger or chimney problem. ALL furnaces have to see an open pressure switch to prevent non-Pros from jumpering them and leaving them jumpered without realizing what they are doing. There are some different startup sequences. I believe that Goodmans have the rollout on the burner box directly wired to the gas valve and not the board and won't show a rollout code. Still safe though. It should show pressure switch stuck closed on startup and not allow any burner operation unless the board is damaged.
Read the $575 for 45 minutes post for a good laugh. Fangs and me are at it again.

Advertisement


Last edited by yuri; 10-22-2009 at 09:11 PM.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ruud Furnace issue grubslinger HVAC 16 09-14-2011 01:13 AM
Heat pump or high efficiency furnace moisheh HVAC 13 11-14-2010 12:59 PM
Wiring a RobertShaw 9870i to Gas Furnace & Heat Pump jerfer HVAC 11 12-21-2008 10:09 PM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 02:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts