RUUD Furnace With New Thermostat - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-22-2013, 09:17 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

RUUD Furnace with new thermostat


I am currently in a rental unit, the thermostat that the landlord had installed was not very user friendly. I saw a good deal on a 7 day programmable thermostat with wifi control. when I got home I noticed it said it NEEDED a common wire.

I pulled the old thermostat off the wall to notice 4 wires hooked up and one cut short. the wires were red, yellow, white and green, hooked up to R, Y, W, and G respectively. the wire cut short was blue. I went down to the furnace to notice the thermostat control wire had some morrets connecting it to the wires coming from the furnace, of those 5 wires only 2 were connected to the furnace (3 were going somewhere else {I'm guessing it was a/c}), white and red (iirc).

so I decided I should do some investigation, pull the furnace door off and sticking out of the control box is 5 terminals, C, R, W, G, Y. so I connect all of the control wires to the furnace wires (leaving the a/c wires connected as well). when I put the thermostat in place (the original used batteries, the new uses a common wire) I get nothing, if I remove the common wire at the thermostat and use the alternate wiring (if you had no common wire) the thermostat comes on put keeps flickering on and off. I have 27v at the red wire. I'd prefer to do as much as possible myself before I involve the landlord and possibly a hvac technician.

the furnace model is ugra-06emaeb by ruud
the new thermostat is a Honeywell RTH6580WF

thanks for the help

Advertisement


Last edited by drummerdude; 10-22-2013 at 09:29 PM.
drummerdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 09:36 PM   #2
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,916
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

RUUD Furnace with new thermostat


What did your landlord say about it?

Advertisement

__________________
"facts" have no relevance to this discusion
Posting from a concrete bunker under a non descript barn
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 09:45 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

RUUD Furnace with new thermostat


Haven't asked yet, I prefer not to involve him, but if I can't figure it out... I may have to.
he'll probably say the old one worked fine, if I want the new one working I'll have to do it at my own expense. should I get 24vac between the red and common?

Last edited by drummerdude; 10-22-2013 at 09:48 PM.
drummerdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 10:01 PM   #4
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,916
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

RUUD Furnace with new thermostat


Yes you should show 24v between red and common.
__________________
"facts" have no relevance to this discusion
Posting from a concrete bunker under a non descript barn
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 10:04 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,615
Rewards Points: 2,544
Default

RUUD Furnace with new thermostat


well you should involve the landlord...because you are not allowed to do what you are doing....ben sr
ben's plumbing is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ben's plumbing For This Useful Post:
hvactech126 (10-22-2013), plummen (10-22-2013)
Old 10-22-2013, 10:11 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

RUUD Furnace with new thermostat


I have no volts between red and common, but I do between red and white, red and green, red and yellow.
drummerdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 10:42 PM   #7
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,916
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

RUUD Furnace with new thermostat


On the board in the furnace?
__________________
"facts" have no relevance to this discusion
Posting from a concrete bunker under a non descript barn
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 11:15 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

RUUD Furnace with new thermostat


ok, the wire I thought was coming from the thermostat (5 wire, just like the back of the thermostat goes to the a/c, the smaller 4 wire must splice somewhere in the wall to meet the thermostat as a 5 wire.

let me know if this makes sense (I believe this was how it was originally hooked up):

red comes from furnace to a/c and thermostat
green comes from furnace to thermostat
yellow from thermostat to white going to a/c
white from furnace goes to white from thermostat

which also makes sense of the fact I had no working common wire, because at some point in the wall, the wires go from 4 wires to 5 wires.

I feel like an idiot for not seeing where they went, I just assumed, 5 wire behind the thermostat, so the 5 wire at the furnace came from that... boy di I make an ass out of me.
drummerdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 11:20 PM   #9
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,916
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

RUUD Furnace with new thermostat


It all depends on how it was installed.
__________________
"facts" have no relevance to this discusion
Posting from a concrete bunker under a non descript barn
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 11:37 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

RUUD Furnace with new thermostat


let me re-phrase:

these are the wires I have:
at the furnace - C is black, Y is yellow, G is green, W is white, R is RED
at the A/C - white and red
at the thermostat Y is yellow, G is green, W is white, R is RED

all the reds were together originally, the others I don't remember (I can't believe I didn't take a pic ahead of time)
so the white from the a/c should be connected to yellow?
should the common from the furnace be connected to anything?
drummerdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 11:41 PM   #11
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,916
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

RUUD Furnace with new thermostat


Id use the red coming from ac and hook it with the yellow,the white would go to the common on board in furnace to complete circuit.
__________________
"facts" have no relevance to this discusion
Posting from a concrete bunker under a non descript barn
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 11:49 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

RUUD Furnace with new thermostat


I think I get it, when the cooling is activated it sends the 24vac from the red to the yellow, which completes the circuit with the common, is that right?

so the yellow from the furnace with yellow from the thermostat and red from the a/c
white from the a/c to black (C) from the furnace
the rest is matched up between furnace and thermostat.

I really appreciate the help.

Last edited by drummerdude; 10-22-2013 at 11:59 PM.
drummerdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 12:10 AM   #13
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,916
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

RUUD Furnace with new thermostat


Yep,that pretty much sums up the process.
R/red is normally power from transformer in furnace to thermostat.
W/white is used to send 24v back to gas valve from stat when heat is called for.
G/green is used to send power back to fan relay in furnace to turn on blower in high speed either manually at stat or when cooling is called for.
Y/yellow is used to send power to coil on contactor on condensing unit when cooling is called for,sometimes tied into a red wire between furnace and condensor since red and white are commonly used colors on 2 conductor wire.
Those are the most common combinations but it can be wired any way you want as long as its the same on both ends.
__________________
"facts" have no relevance to this discusion
Posting from a concrete bunker under a non descript barn
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 12:29 AM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

RUUD Furnace with new thermostat


the a/c unit doesn't kick on, everything else works fine, but outside it hasn't turned on, is there a way to test the wires, or can I upload a pic to make sure its wired correctly?
drummerdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 01:10 AM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

RUUD Furnace with new thermostat


with the air on, the red to white going to the condenser shows 27vac, but the condenser has still yet to turn on.

Advertisement

drummerdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
furnace or thermostat problem? jhack836 HVAC 1 02-11-2012 01:19 PM
Thermostat issues rathipon HVAC 4 01-29-2011 12:46 PM
Honeywell Prestige HD thermostat wiring 1H/1C + Humidification System TekGamer HVAC 0 07-10-2010 12:58 AM
Can't turn furnace fan on from thermostat control cnnd2010 HVAC 0 06-18-2010 11:37 AM
Oil Furnace - Swapping out to Programmable Thermostat slappy HVAC 2 12-05-2007 04:57 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts