Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-30-2011, 09:12 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Ruud furnace


Hey everyone i am having an issue with our natural gas furnace it is a Ruud model ugpj-07eauer the problem is it wont ignite. The ignitor does not glow but i pulled it out of the unit hooked power to it and it came right on. Put it back in the furnace,then on circuit board there is a 6 prong plug checked for power there i have power going to the fan but no power on the terminals that feed the ignitor. Is there some that sends power to the ignitor a reason i dont have power going to those terminals or is the board bad. also i am getting code 3 not sure what that mean board number is 62-24268-03 thanks Joseph

joseph1122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 09:18 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 804
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Ruud furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by joseph1122 View Post
Hey everyone i am having an issue with our natural gas furnace it is a Ruud model ugpj-07eauer the problem is it wont ignite. The ignitor does not glow but i pulled it out of the unit hooked power to it and it came right on. Put it back in the furnace,then on circuit board there is a 6 prong plug checked for power there i have power going to the fan but no power on the terminals that feed the ignitor. Is there some that sends power to the ignitor a reason i dont have power going to those terminals or is the board bad. also i am getting code 3 not sure what that mean board number is 62-24268-03 thanks Joseph

I am not 100% sure of that code but I think its a limit fault.... see this thread Lennox 80UHG3 - Combustion Air Blower doesn't spin see post # 5 for an explanation of open limits...

harleyrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 03:26 PM   #3
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,621
Rewards Points: 2,380
Default

Ruud furnace


ruud error codes are in SMALL print on the wiring diagram.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 07:53 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Ruud furnace


Thanks to all furnace is fixed.Open limit switch bought new limit switch and furnace seans to run fine now waiting for it to shut reach temp and shut down thanks again to all thanks. from Joseph
joseph1122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 08:02 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,437
Rewards Points: 2,188
Default

Ruud furnace


good to hear joe....still would be nice to know what caused the failed switch...are filters changed on a regular basis...is the a/c coil dirty.... these can cause the limit to open and close to much druing cycling and cause failure......
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 08:11 PM   #6
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,621
Rewards Points: 2,380
Default

Ruud furnace


limit control should last the life of the furnace and never have to open/work if there is proper airflow. do a temp rise check. there is a rating ie: 35-65 degF on the model # sticker. stick a cooking thermometer 1-2 ft downstream from the plenum and subtract the return or house temp to see the rise. run unit for 5-10 mins.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to yuri For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (11-30-2011)
Old 12-01-2011, 03:42 AM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,554
Rewards Points: 2,788
Default

Ruud furnace


As Yuri said. You have a problem somewhere, or the limit wouldn't have opened.

Check for a dirty A/C coil, dirty air filter, and or dirty secondary heat exchanger if its a condensing furnace. Also check for blocked or closed registers/grilles.

Look to see what speed the blower is set to.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 08:47 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Ruud furnace


Thanks guys for the great info i will check those things to see if i can find a reason why it failed sure is nice to have some heat thanks again. Joe

joseph1122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ruud Silhouette II Furnace Problem komobu HVAC 10 03-26-2014 02:09 PM
Natural Gas Cost For Furnace 1 Hour Run Time hammerlane HVAC 15 11-11-2013 10:34 AM
Ruud Furnace intermittent problem dbh HVAC 29 01-04-2010 07:52 AM
Ruud furnace won't ignite kickinmhl HVAC 4 04-19-2009 10:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.