Running HVAC Ducts For Newly Finished Basement Room - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-01-2010, 05:21 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 350
Rewards Points: 258
Default

running HVAC ducts for newly finished basement room


Hey all,

I have a related post going, but I got some advice so this modifies my original idea. I've got an unfinished room in my basement that's about 15x25 feet. There is presently another 15x25 foot totally finished room down there as well. It's heated/cooled from the same unit that does our first floor.

I'm about to begin finishing this unfinished 15x25 room down there. It happens to have the HVAC air handler sitting in it. I'll box it in to code and put a vented door on it, etc.

Our units are older but in top working shape, so we're not going to replace them now.

That being said......

I've gotta heat/cool this new room. I want to tap into the existing unit and run perhaps 2 vents and one return. There are also two vents and a return in the other finished room.

I know I'll replace the HVAC unit at some point. So my question is before I frame, do I need to do anything special for that in terms of vents? I want it vented properly so it can work now with the older/present system. Then at some unknown future point, I can have a new HVAC unit installed but my venting will already be right.

And final question - is there preferred placement for these new vents? I assume above windows/doors. There is an exterior door and a double window. So two new runs to those? Or forget placement and just tap into an existing duct (all in ceiling)?

Advertisement

denemante is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 05:41 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,531
Rewards Points: 4,700
Default

running HVAC ducts for newly finished basement room


If you have an 80%. The venting code will be the same as it is for your current unit.

Best to have the supply air near the outside walls. And generally preferable at or near the windows or doors.

Will work better, it you tap into the plenum, instead of the trunk line.

Advertisement

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 05:52 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 350
Rewards Points: 258
Default

running HVAC ducts for newly finished basement room


Thanks Beenthere. What's 80%? And you're suggesting any pro would just run 2 new supply vents from the plenum? I assume maybe also a new return run to a return plenum, with the return vent lower on a wall?
denemante is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 06:02 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,531
Rewards Points: 4,700
Default

running HVAC ducts for newly finished basement room


80% efficient furnace. Vents into a chimney.

Many will cut corners, and run it from your trunk line. Which in turn robs air from other supplies.

I'd rumn the return tot he return plenum or drop.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
tapping into existing HVAC for basement denemante HVAC 3 10-27-2010 06:12 AM
Different options for soundproofing a finished basement apartment mz04zf Building & Construction 2 09-09-2010 11:18 AM
new basement room circuit BlueBSH Electrical 9 09-03-2010 09:44 AM
Moving ductwork to accomodate finished basement Badfish740 HVAC 1 01-13-2010 04:11 PM
Running Romex up from basement to attic tra999 Electrical 1 07-25-2006 05:21 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts