Running Ducts In The Basement - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-02-2012, 02:37 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

running ducts in the basement


Hello. I'm finishing my basement and I am getting ready to do the heating. Is there an easy way to run ducts down the walls? Also the permit says that I will need to have a high and low return vent. And configuration of air in the mechanical room. It will be about 1000sq ft finished and 250 sq ft in the mechanical room. Thanks

Advertisement

osucrna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 03:29 PM   #2
Part of the Clover Leaf
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NW Burbs of Detroit Mi.
Posts: 1,107
Rewards Points: 500
Default

running ducts in the basement


there are no "short-cuts", if that is what you are asking.

Advertisement

hvac5646 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 03:59 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

running ducts in the basement


Nope not wanting to do a short cut I just don't know how to run a duct from overhead joist down a 2x4 studded wall to have the vent near the floor. Most basements I see have the vents on the ceiling but I would rather have them near the floor
osucrna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 05:24 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

running ducts in the basement


Return duct or supply? Supply duct will need wall stack ducting. Return can use the empty stud space without a metal duct inside it.

The high and low vents connecting the mechanical room and the larger space will not be hooked to any ducting. They're just to allow oxygen(combustion air) into the mechanical room for the fire .

Last edited by Marty S.; 03-02-2012 at 05:27 PM.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 05:26 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

running ducts in the basement


I wanted to run supply down the walls.
osucrna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 05:34 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

running ducts in the basement


Quick search came up with this.
http://www.alpinehomeair.com/related/Ductwork.pdf
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 05:53 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

running ducts in the basement


That is an awesome reference. Thanks
osucrna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 07:27 PM   #8
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,813
Rewards Points: 2,300
Default

running ducts in the basement


Quote:
Originally Posted by Marty S. View Post
Return can use the empty stud space without a metal duct inside it.
Verify this as the rules will vary.

Meanwhile... bookmark the Gray Metal website.
Once you see what is available... how to do things becomes simpler.

Advertisement

TarheelTerp is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
basement , return , supply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running Generator Inside Garage or Basement AllanJ Electrical 26 07-04-2013 12:49 PM
Help with new duct work trunk running to attic from basement. coderguy HVAC 8 10-02-2011 11:22 AM
Running drains for basement bath jeerme Plumbing 4 03-04-2009 10:51 PM
basement floor drain problem radioiowa88 Plumbing 5 10-22-2008 11:52 PM
Running Conduit in new basement framed walls tben Electrical 3 12-11-2004 12:14 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts