Running A/c With Panel Off - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-02-2012, 06:23 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

running a/c with panel off


Ive been having trouble with my ac freezing up, dont feel much if any air coming out of the vents so me and my brother pulled the motor/fan out and cleaned it really good was really dirty... i turned it on and it still didnt work any different (has a new clean air filter) still no air coming out of vents or not much atleast and it wants to freeze up within literally minutes. So i took the front cover off thats infront of the fan and the air is blowing good out of the vents and its cooling the house like it never has before..... what is clogged? where do i look? thanks

Advertisement

bigmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 06:50 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

running a/c with panel off


also since ive lived here the hvac people have replaced the blower motor capacitor almost once a year when i moved in the system was supposed to be brand new but ive lived here 8 or 9 years you think the motor is bad and blowing the capacitor?

Advertisement

bigmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 06:57 PM   #3
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,399
Rewards Points: 2,460
Default

running a/c with panel off


No airflow, clogged A-coil.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 07:00 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,732
Rewards Points: 580
Default

running a/c with panel off


No model #, no serial # no type of unit. Hard to say.
Has anyone ever checked the freon pressure? Anyone done an amp. draw test on the motor?
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 07:18 PM   #5
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

running a/c with panel off


the return from the condition space has a filter your not getting any return if that access door test gives you the solid register air.as said if the fan was packed with dirt dust...the next retriction is the A coil above the heat exchanger.... need to open the back and eye ball it
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 08:48 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

running a/c with panel off


model #aruf030-00a-1
serial #0311023101

this is what im looking at, tried to spray the a-coil with cleaner stuff today does it need more cleaning? is there something underneath the coil that could be clogged?

edit: last guy to change the capacitor checked and said the freon was fine


Uploaded with ImageShack.us


By ezerudk at 2012-03-02


By ezerudk at 2012-03-02

Last edited by bigmac; 03-02-2012 at 08:51 PM. Reason: additional info
bigmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 09:09 PM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,421
Rewards Points: 4,488
Default

running a/c with panel off


Coils probably dirty. Look up through the air filter panel.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 10:19 PM   #8
thermal-medics.com
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 48
Rewards Points: 25
Default

running a/c with panel off


QUOTE] is there something underneath the coil that could be clogged?[/QUOTE]

Thats the key, you have to look at the face of the coil. Like everyone is saying this is classic dirty coil. Once the ice melts you should see a nice layer of goo, hair, old fliter parts, i even saw a wal-mart bag on one.

If that thing is as clean as the back side you have photos of then the only other thing I can dig up is a restriction.
thermal-medics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 10:42 PM   #9
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,472
Rewards Points: 504
Default

running a/c with panel off


Upflow furnace coil is plugged from bottom
__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 02:18 AM   #10
REP
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 615
Rewards Points: 500
Default

running a/c with panel off


I don't see it in the pictures.What size return air drop do you have??? A picture of the filter and ductwork would be helpful.
REP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 05:20 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

running a/c with panel off



By ezerudk at 2012-03-03


By ezerudk at 2012-03-03


heres most of the junk that came off the bottom of the a-coil, i have 2 cats so its alot of hair and dust


Uploaded with ImageShack.us

now its actually blowing through the vents decent and it feels alot better over the last hour or so it got down from 83 to 80 but still doesnt work very good... i was told the system is pretty undersized for the sq ft of my house which is 1,734 i wonder if theres anything else that could make this thing work better... florida is gonna be gettin hotter and hotter soon anyways i really appreciate everyone who came in and posted thanks for the help
bigmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 06:31 PM   #12
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

running a/c with panel off


the inside of that A coil needs to get eyeballed.that second to last pix is that the coil matted gray dust?
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 09:35 PM   #13
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,421
Rewards Points: 4,488
Default

running a/c with panel off


Quote:
Originally Posted by biggles View Post
the inside of that A coil needs to get eyeballed.that second to last pix is that the coil matted gray dust?
Yep, that coil needs a good cleaning yet. Lots of dirt still inside the fins.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 11:09 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

running a/c with panel off


that picture is before cleaning, how will i know when its clean and what should i use?
bigmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 12:02 AM   #15
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

running a/c with panel off


local Grainger has item #5W402 evap coil cleaner(non-acid) one to mix with water.if you have a local rental might pick up a pump sprayer and mix the entire gallon with gallon of water....soak the side you cleaned then the other side and let it work down thru the coil.the condenser cleaner if done right with water and applied could make that look like a new coil...but tricky with the "acid mix" and it really foams up when sprayed and really works the dust/dirt out ..i guess you'll do a more routine filter change now looking at a spring/summer.check the fins on the squirrel cage that there not matted with that dust you removed from the coil..hose out the condenser in the spring from the inside out with the power off out there

Advertisement

biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new sub panel BlueBSH Electrical 11 01-22-2012 09:28 AM
More Sub Panel Questions rdkng07 Electrical 6 05-25-2011 09:46 AM
Help/Suggestions Running Cat5e Acroos Room To New Panel darveaux Electrical 6 02-28-2011 03:12 AM
Subpanel next to Main panel wired the same in 1990 Uncle Wayne Electrical 3 01-20-2011 01:43 AM
Passing wire to another panel theatretch85 Electrical 5 09-21-2009 12:09 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts