Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-03-2010, 09:13 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 18
Share |
Default

RPJ11 open pressure switch


I have a RPJ11 at my dad's house. When turned on, it flashes 3 times which means "pressure switch contacts open".
Does this mean it needs to be replaced?
Is it an easy job?

Thanks for any help!!

salmonboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2010, 10:38 PM   #2
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,889
Default

RPJ11 open pressure switch


might just be stuck open during call for heat.
pull the vacuam hose off the inducer motor and try sucking on it ,you should here it click shut then open back up when you quit sucking on it. i suddenly feel like i should be writing scripts for **** movies!

plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to plummen For This Useful Post:
salmonboy (04-04-2010)
Old 04-03-2010, 11:03 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 18
Default

RPJ11 open pressure switch


Thanks, I try to google up a picture of what I'm looking for.
salmonboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2010, 07:49 AM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,542
Default

RPJ11 open pressure switch


Means you could have a cracked heat exchanger. A clogged or restricted chimney or flue pipe. Water in the pressure switch hose. A cracked hose. And a slim chance the switch is bad.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
salmonboy (04-04-2010)
Old 04-04-2010, 08:17 AM   #5
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,068
Default

RPJ11 open pressure switch


Suck on it hard enough and you will ruin it. That furnace is notorious for cracked heat exchangers.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to yuri For This Useful Post:
salmonboy (04-04-2010)
Old 04-04-2010, 10:17 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 18
Default

RPJ11 open pressure switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
Suck on it hard enough and you will ruin it. That furnace is notorious for cracked heat exchangers.

If that is the case, is it repairable or is it just better to replace whole furnace?

Thanks for the suggestions. I'm going to go check the exhaust for blockage and then the tubing.
salmonboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2010, 11:01 AM   #7
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,068
Default

RPJ11 open pressure switch


Depends on how old it is and how you like to spend money and whether you feel it is worthwhile. The heat ex may have a 20 yr warranty but the labor to replace it is your cost. IMO that unit is a losing money pit as there are several other expensive repairs issues that can go wrong with it. I have seen hundreds of them. I would buy a new high efficiency unit and see what grants/rebates are available. The heat ex needs to be checked by an experienced Heil/ICP tech to know if it is cracked or has popped compression rivets.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to yuri For This Useful Post:
salmonboy (04-04-2010)
Old 04-04-2010, 11:08 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 18
Default

RPJ11 open pressure switch


Thanks

I will check this basic stuff but will definitely not go overboard with DIY.
salmonboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2010, 06:38 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 18
Default

RPJ11 open pressure switch


OK
I checked the pressure switch and lightly blew into it and could hear it move.
Took the pipe apart going into the chimney and it is connected to a liner.
But to make sure that it wasn't blocked. took apart at the blower outlet.

Three flashes continued.

The tubing going to the pressure switch had quite a bend in it so I held it over a little to reduce restriction. Still 3 flashes.

The one thing that I didn't do was put an ohm meter on the pressure switch.

So I guess I'm down to getting help and maybe replacing the unit.

Anymore advice on repair or replacement will be appreciated. Do company drop the intial service call if you then purchase?

Like I said earlier, I'm just trying to help my dad keep costs down.

I really appreciate the ideas offered, even though I haven't accomplised anything......
salmonboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2010, 07:17 PM   #10
MXer
 
3 legged dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: South West Coast
Posts: 128
Default

RPJ11 open pressure switch


Is the inducer motor running?
3 legged dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2010, 07:19 PM   #11
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,068
Default

RPJ11 open pressure switch


Where the tubing to the pressure switch attaches to the ventor fan, poke that hole open with a paper clip.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to yuri For This Useful Post:
salmonboy (04-04-2010)
Old 04-04-2010, 07:22 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 18
Default

RPJ11 open pressure switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by 3 legged dog View Post
Is the inducer motor running?

Yes, it fires right up.

Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
Where the tubing to the pressure switch attaches to the ventor fan, poke that hole open with a paper clip.

Didn't try that. I'm about five miles away. Will run out and try.
Thanks
salmonboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2010, 07:29 PM   #13
MXer
 
3 legged dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: South West Coast
Posts: 128
Default

RPJ11 open pressure switch


bring an ohm meter and check for closure of the switch when the inducer
comes on.
3 legged dog is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to 3 legged dog For This Useful Post:
salmonboy (04-04-2010)
Old 04-04-2010, 08:50 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 18
Default

RPJ11 open pressure switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
Where the tubing to the pressure switch attaches to the ventor fan, poke that hole open with a paper clip.

YURI

Thank you so much that is all it took. I felt it pushing crude out and furnace went into cycle and fired up.

I want to thank all that contributed ideas!!!

I'm thinking you saved my old dad a lot of money.

Just a note. After the nipple was cleaned out...the hose had no kink in it either .
salmonboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2010, 05:46 AM   #15
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,068
Default

RPJ11 open pressure switch


Alls well that ends well.

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
furnace pressure switch Mike T. HVAC 3 10-10-2009 01:26 PM
Pressure switch ratings gp_wa Electrical 6 08-31-2009 09:43 PM
Pressure Switch Stuck Closed --heat works but A/C doesnt assassinmunky HVAC 0 06-23-2009 02:49 PM
pressure switch on pump radams3141 Plumbing 2 04-30-2008 07:14 PM
Bad pressure switch? gshock HVAC 3 11-13-2007 07:15 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.