Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-08-2008, 01:01 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Post

RPJ II Condensate Trap


I'm a first timer and hope someone can help with my problem. I have an RPJ II, Model # GUI075A012BIN that consistantly breaks down every few days. We've had the "brain" replaced, several flame sensors cleaned and/or replanced, the entire furnace cleaned, we change the filters every 6 weeks, and have even re-routed the exhaust so it goes up straighter. The fan speed has been lowered, but we still get water in the little tube that connects to the pressure switch. The furnace blower runs constantly, and the flame sensor lights up, the flames come on, but then immediately go out. I have to take the little tube off and drain the water, never very much, and then the furnace will run properly for a day or so, sometimes 2 if we're lucky. Once again I take the little hose loose and drain the water and then it starts right up. The t-stat is good. Is my problem the little hose (that hangs in a U) or the pressure switch, or both? We've had lots of repair people here and no one seems able to correct it. Thanks!

KayMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2008, 11:01 PM   #2
Mechanical Contractor
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 115
Rewards Points: 75
Default

RPJ II Condensate Trap


Email Comfortmaker they have had several revisions in the design of those units in regard to that problem, it's been a while since I have worked on any ICP products. I believe they changed the hose and the mounting of the pressure switch.

__________________
100% Union and proud of it.
MechanicalDVR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2008, 01:43 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

RPJ II Condensate Trap


Thanks for your help! I'll definetly email them.
KayMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2008, 03:54 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

RPJ II Condensate Trap


Comfortmaker would not talk to me since I'm only a homeowner... I've had to call another repairman who who called Coleman and they say they have no idea what the problem is. The latest repairman is going to replace the fan motor and the pressure hose to see if that fixes it. By the way, he is from Consumers Energy (the gas company).
KayMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2008, 03:25 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default

RPJ II Condensate Trap


I'm not familar with that model without seeing it, but it sounds like the guy from Consumers Energy doesn't understand the firing order and/or doesn't know how to read a schematic.

Without seeing it, the basic order for most furnaces should be (1) The pressure switch has to be open. (2) the inducer motor comes on, (3) the pressure switch closes and completes the 24VAC circuit (assuming the limit, rollout switches and are closed and the drain is open (4) the ignitor heats up (5) 24 volts is sent to the gas valve while the HSI ignitor is on (6) burners light (7) flame sensor senses the flame (8) if the sensor is clean and sending the correct voltage to the board, the 24 volts to the valve remain. (9) if the sensor is dirty or sending a weak signal, the 24 volts to the valve is interupted and the furnace shuts down. It should try this a predetermined number of times and then goes into lockdown for a period of time.
Buckeyetech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2008, 07:46 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sringfield, Oh
Posts: 111
Rewards Points: 75
Default

RPJ II Condensate Trap


Is the furnace level, is the PVC pipes sloped to the furnace, is your trap clean, also is your drain clean? yes, I agree the water in the tube is the problem. It is not the pressure switch. Just a thought, can you relocate the pressure switch above the inducer to cause the water to drain back into the inducer motor. I've had to do this a couple of times .,

sgthvac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Goodman - pressure switch/condensate trap jrmac HVAC 4 09-07-2009 04:49 AM
Leaking Condenation Trap - Bryant falcon HVAC 9 04-01-2009 06:17 PM
Older sewer w/ backwards trap Gregad Plumbing 4 08-21-2007 08:12 PM
Attic A/C Unit Condensate Trap bardad1022 HVAC 3 06-25-2007 07:30 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.