Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-11-2007, 04:06 PM   #1

Share |

Rookie Needs Help - No AC Blowing Thru Vents?

Turned on my AC for the first time this season yesterday and all was well. Cooled the house and felt airflow from all the vents. Today was cooler, so I turned it off, only to have the house heat up on me anyway. Long story short, turned it back on again.

Now here's the rub - None of my house's vents (upstairs or downstairs) are blowing ANY air anymore (tried both the "fan" and "auto" settings of the gauge).

Over the winter, I had to replace the inducer blower motor and assembly in the indoor unit -- I'm a rookie so I'm not sure if that affects air conditioning or just heat. Could something be wrong there again?

I feel a strong cool draft when I place my hand near the filter area on the indoor unit, as well as along the edge of the left insulated duct heading up into the house (or is that the exhaust, it's the duct to the left of the indoor unit, not directly above it).

When I turn the heat on, I feel very hot air blowing there.

The fan in the outdoor unit is spinning strongly and all seems well out there. I figure if that was broke, I'd still be getting air inside, just HOT air.

So the question is - Why am I suddenly not getting any air through my indoor ventilation?

Help???

UPDATE: I just turned on the heat to see - I didn't feel any heat blowing either. So no heat, no ac at the vents, but I feel a huge rush of air along the lines of the duct going up into the house. I can post a photo if it would be helpful. What's the likely cause?

B.

Last edited by BDPNA; 05-11-2007 at 04:21 PM.
BDPNA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 07:34 PM   #2
Thoroughbred Mopar Man

Hi BDPNA