Roof Top Condensor Placement Ok? - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-16-2008, 01:48 PM   #1
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10

Roof top condensor placement ok?

I need to install a new condensor and was considering a rheem due to its lower height. I am limited to a ground installation and thought about the roof right close to the furnace which is in the attic. However I had an ac tech come to give me a quote and he said a rooftop condensor is not a good idea due to the fact it would get to hot and cause the refrigerant oil to siphon out of the pump and cause early pump failure. I live in the high desert region of Southern California where summertime temps range from 90 to 106. Is this a concern? Thanks for your reply.


bdawson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 02:31 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
jbfan's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 6,687
Rewards Points: 122

I'm not a hvac guy, but I think he was blowing smoke. Look at the rooftops in AZ and you will see all the condensors are on the roof.


"The problem isn't that Hillary Clinton lies. We all know she lies. The problem is that her supporters don't seem to care"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 03:17 PM   #3
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10

Are they self contained units

I kind of agree with you, however most of the time you see roof top condensors they are actually self contained with the complete unit blower and condensor on the roof, not always but usually. He said that was different then having just the condensor on the roof pumping the freon to the coil in the attic. But still sounds strange to me.
bdawson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 07:46 PM   #4
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 109
Rewards Points: 75

Most likely a load of should not matter where you place the condensing unit provided there are proper traps installed on a vertical rise, the coil is kept clean and the unit is properly charged. Maybe he just doesnt want the hassle of putting it on the roof.
statman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2008, 06:07 PM   #5
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 152
Rewards Points: 150

what he said

a trap installed at every 15ft mark is code and it will work fine. that being said he is right the oil will have to fight to keep the compressor lubricated but it will work . you will lose eff due to the roof top temps being 30 degrees warmer then the ground , but it will work . what he didnt mention is the noise we just installed 10 condensors on a roof in greenwich a few months ago since then the builder has had to put vibration eliminators in and sound proof the smalllllllll attic space . if you have the space on the ground use it . to the people that always think we are lying and dont want to be hassled we do we can charge more . what we realy dont want and neither do you is a call a week a month or 5 years later with a problem thats when it costs us money unless you do it against SOUND advice
geo fan is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Flat roof questions, advice, ballpark estimate JerryH Roofing/Siding 18 11-07-2008 04:08 PM
Flat roof - Rolled? - leaks Advice? JJ2001 Roofing/Siding 4 11-19-2006 06:17 AM

Top of Page | View New Posts


Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1