Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-15-2011, 10:50 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

the right duct size


Im going to be installing a goodman 90+ furance in my basement it's going to be a 66,000 output furance. I have 4 rooms down there with a total of 1500 sq. ft. I wanted to know what the right size trunck off the furance would be and return. How long for both and length and width. Ill be running 6 inch take offs from all the truncks to each location. thanks for the help.

eng-399 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 10:57 AM   #2
Disabled wood vet
 
titanoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: California
Posts: 1,646
Default

the right duct size


There's a formula for that, though only HVAC people would know that.

Sent from a Samsung Galaxy S2

titanoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 02:17 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Indiana, PA
Posts: 1,299
Default

the right duct size


Quote:
Originally Posted by titanoman View Post
There's a formula for that, though only HVAC people would know that.

Sent from a Samsung Galaxy S2
That'd be the manual J and manual D and not just HVAC people know it, you can buy the workbooks and figure it out yourself.... I know I just tried that myself
BlueBSH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 05:12 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 68
Default

the right duct size


Quote:
Originally Posted by eng-399 View Post
Im going to be installing a goodman 90+ furance in my basement it's going to be a 66,000 output furance. I have 4 rooms down there with a total of 1500 sq. ft. I wanted to know what the right size trunck off the furance would be and return. How long for both and length and width. Ill be running 6 inch take offs from all the truncks to each location. thanks for the help.
24x10 inches for both supply and return are typical for that size furnace (assuming it was correctly sized), you need much more then one 6 inch to each room though, one 10 inch to each room would do it or a couple of 8's.
bungalow_steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 05:58 PM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,800
Default

the right duct size


66,000 BTU output for a little 1500 sq ft basement? Very over sized furnace.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 06:58 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Central Ontario. Canada
Posts: 8
Default

the right duct size


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
66,000 BTU output for a little 1500 sq ft basement? Very over sized furnace.
How would you know it is oversized without doing a "heat loss" calculation on this home?

Been there myself
Hube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 10:52 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2
Question

the right duct size


Thanks for the help I do work in the field but on high pressure boilers and roof top units, make up air units ect... Im a building engineer holding a cfc card like you guys. im just looking for some help here to save a few bucks.... from fellow trade guys... but for my home Im not sure trunck size right off the furance each room would have seveal runs going into it and returns in each room instead of 1 or 2 large returns but you guys think 66,000 is over sized for that space. one room is 31 by 17, 2nd is 10 by 16, 3rd is 31 by24 a full bath and some other space im closing off
eng-399 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2011, 04:23 AM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,800
Default

the right duct size


Yep, over sized.

The ceiling has no heat loss, since the floor above it is heated. The floor/slab has 50 to 55 degree ground under it, so only a little heat loss, same with all walls below grade.

Basements don't take much to hat them.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Metal duct or flex? smokey982 HVAC 6 08-06-2010 06:20 AM
What size duct i need lenexx miaisis1 HVAC 5 07-04-2010 10:12 AM
adding duct work and outlet jjrbus HVAC 17 05-30-2010 02:13 PM
Duct work in garage. flashme18 HVAC 1 11-08-2009 06:29 PM
Return duct "boot or no boot" ads67 HVAC 16 01-10-2009 09:38 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.