Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-12-2012, 05:51 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6
Share |
Default

Rheem GAS Furnace issue


Hello all. I've got a bit of an issue right now with our Rheem 90 plus, or RGRA model. Couple of days ago I noticed that there was a blinking amber light as the furnace runs, which I don't think is right? The furnace is firing up fine and running through it's cycle until the thermostat kicks it off. The issue is it feels like the air coming out of the ducts is not very warm at all, like it's not running at full tilt. Also, once the thermostat kicks off 5 mins later it's back on and running the furnace again.
I tried cleaning the flame sensor, which did not work so I replaced it. Still same problem. Had a company come out yesterday and they told me everything looks fine, which I think is BS. It also has a new filter in it.
Any suggestions?
bshaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 06:59 AM   #2
Willing to listen
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: West of St. Louis MO in the country
Posts: 145
Default

Rheem GAS Furnace issue


Inside the service panel there is usually a sticker with the LED flash codes meanings. What does is say for the code your getting?
Done That is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 07:14 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6
Default

Rheem GAS Furnace issue


From what I can tell...... when the fan starts to blow it looks like 3 blinks a pause then 3 more blinks. After that it goes to a steady blink, with maybe a 1 sec pause in between until the flames go out (thermostat kicks off).
The code for 3 blinks would be limit switch is open, and that's if I reading the code right. It happens so fast it's hard to tell, specially when it goes to a steady blink.
bshaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 07:21 AM   #4
Willing to listen
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: West of St. Louis MO in the country
Posts: 145
Default

Rheem GAS Furnace issue


Which LED(s) are blinking which codes? I believe those furnaces have boards with multiple LEDs, green, amber etc and the amber one is only codes for flame sense.

FLAME (AMBER) LED CODES
OFF = No Flame Present
RAPID BLINK = Unexpected Flame
SLOW BLINK = Marginal Flame Sense

STEADY ON = Normal Flame Sense

BLINK CODES (GREEN LED)
1 Blink - Soft lockout
Reset System power and
start over from beginning
2 Blinks - PS Circuit open
go to point F.
3 Blinks - Limit circuit open
go to point D.
4 Blinks - PS Circuit closed
Go to point G.
5 Blinks - Twin Fault (Optional)

*Go to point H.
Done That is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 07:23 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6
Default

Rheem GAS Furnace issue


That's what I was looking for.
Yes, this model has two green lights and one amber light. The amber light is the one blinking. Maybe I'm getting to much gas..... we are getting gas from a well head.
bshaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 07:27 AM   #6
Willing to listen
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: West of St. Louis MO in the country
Posts: 145
Default

Rheem GAS Furnace issue


Google "Rheem RGRA installation manual" you should find a 60 page pdf with lots of info and trouble shooting tables. These models were built with both spark and hot surface ignition apparently.

That said, for safety with a gas furnace I would probably call a second service company out.
Done That is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 07:37 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6
Default

Rheem GAS Furnace issue


Found it, looks like flame sense is low.... ugggg. Our gas pressure must be low. I will get that checked out first and go from there. If it is the furnace side, I will get another company that I trust to come out. I appreciate the help!!
bshaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 07:02 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6
Default

Rheem GAS Furnace issue


That's all it was, either gas pressure or not good btu.
We got it fixed though. Thanks again for the help!
bshaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quote for new furnace. Reasonable? dengle HVAC 16 03-04-2012 07:01 AM
Rheem Criterion Gas Furnace Problems boons25 HVAC 2 01-24-2009 10:48 AM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 01:55 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 01:45 AM
Rheem Furnace jsfjets HVAC 2 12-06-2007 07:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.