Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-28-2009, 09:14 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Rheem furnace troubleshooting


Hey, first post on the forum but I've been getting some great tips for a while now.

Anyway my g/f and I just purchased our house a few months ago and recently (4weeks or so) the temperature here in Saskatchewan started getting cold. Up untill a couple days ago the furnace a Rheem model# RGDG 07 EAUEA was working perfectly, then upon arriving home from work the house was freezing. Played with the stat and the inducer came on for a few seconds and then nothing. After going down and shutting off power, valve to off for 5 minutes then back on, power back on and everything went smoothly from there.....for about a day.

Woke up this morning to a cold house again, went through same procedure and again started up and ran normally. Well back home from work to the same problem but this time the first time I tried the same procedure as before the ignitor lit up but the valve didn't open. Tried one more time and it then started up and has run fine so far but I'm sure I'll run into this again. Any ideas??

And normally I would call a tech but I'm 2 hours out in the country so thought I'd get an idea here first.

Thanks.

Ryan23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2009, 10:05 AM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,213
Default

Rheem furnace troubleshooting


The circuit board is faulty. Not hard to change yourself. Hope the Mellonheads win today.

Does the board have any flashing LEDSs. May give you an error code and that is on the wiring diagram. VERY small chance 1% that the pressure switch is dropping out intermittently. Need to put a volt meter across its 2 terminals. If it opens you get 24 volts, have to catch that while the problem occurs.


Last edited by yuri; 11-29-2009 at 10:32 AM.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 08:09 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Rheem furnace troubleshooting


You may want to check the the flame sensor. It may need to be cleaned or replaced.
chinaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with Rheem Criterion Furnace sweetsue777 HVAC 3 03-10-2012 11:13 AM
Rheem 80% furnace 3rdroofdown HVAC 2 11-23-2009 08:59 AM
furnace ignition troubleshooting buju HVAC 22 01-14-2009 10:41 PM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 01:55 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 01:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.