Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-19-2012, 08:37 PM   #1
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,489
Share |
Default

Rheem furnace question I couldn't answer!


I saw a 10 yr+ mid efficiency Rheem Criterion RGDG-07EAUEA direct fire furnace to day that had a standard hot surface igniter but no visable proving system. (No flame rod)
I assume the proving system must be the change in the amp measurement of the hot surface igniter when it's immersed in main burner flame but couldn't find a readable schematic on site

Anyone know about this?
I hardly ever see Rheem furnaces.

how is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 08:50 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

Rheem furnace question I couldn't answer!


They used the hot surface ignitor as a flame sense. Later versions added a flame sensor tied into the neutral wire of the ignitor as a booster.

Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Marty S. For This Useful Post:
how (10-19-2012)
Old 10-20-2012, 06:38 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,243
Default

Rheem furnace question I couldn't answer!


hey how one of the 1 st rheem criterion furnaces had a standing pilot system with thermocupler saftey .....seen one about 3 months ago....still working but what a pile of junk
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ben's plumbing For This Useful Post:
hvactech126 (10-20-2012)
Old 10-20-2012, 09:32 AM   #4
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,317
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Rheem furnace question I couldn't answer!


Quote:
Originally Posted by ben's plumbing View Post
hey how one of the 1 st rheem criterion furnaces had a standing pilot system with thermocupler saftey .....seen one about 3 months ago....still working but what a pile of junk

Ben, and now you know why those inducers always had that little port at the bottom. I have a seen a Payne model with the same type of standing pilot and hood that goes to the inducer for venting the pilot.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hvactech126 For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (10-20-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring question for Trane furnace rvmeush HVAC 1 02-27-2012 09:04 PM
Gas furnace exhaust vent question nowell HVAC 7 01-30-2012 08:31 AM
Water Inside/Around American Standard Furnace michrob HVAC 8 12-08-2011 03:51 PM
Question Re: New Furnace and Duct Sizing DSimo HVAC 3 06-17-2008 07:24 AM
One furnace question and one thermostat question lh0628 HVAC 4 10-11-2007 10:17 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.