Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-01-2006, 07:31 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Rheem Furnace problem


I have a rheem furnace with 5 inshot burners. sometimes only the first one on the right comes on then the unit shuts down 5 seconds later......I have cleaned and aligned the crossover tubes and checked the gas pressure in and out of the valve in is 12"wc and out to the burners id 11"wc....can anyone help me?....Its COOOOOOLD!!!!

Last edited by tbonebilly; 11-01-2006 at 07:40 PM.
tbonebilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2006, 07:46 PM   #2
Thoroughbred Mopar Man
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South/East Kansas
Posts: 637
Default

Rheem Furnace problem


Hi tbonebilly

It sounds like to me that you may need to replace burners. If burners are badly rusted, you will need to do so. If they are not badly rusted you will need to use a small wire brush and clean them well. I am assuming that by the pressure you are on propane. If that be so you will also need to check for sooting. If there is any soot ( black cakey stuff ) inside the heat exchanger this will have to be dealt with before going any further. The other thing is unscrew and check the burner orfices, spyders sometimes build nests inside them over the summer. You can clean them with water or what ever you have available to you once you remove them from the manifold. The other thing I would reccomend is to check the data plate for LP pressure. 11-12" is a little high for a manifold pressure, 9-11" is pretty common. Let us know if I or any of the other members can help.

Good luck.
Rusty
#CARRIERMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2007, 06:28 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1
Default

Rheem Furnace problem


I have an old RHEEM furnice maybe 15 yrs old or older the past two yrs, it would shut off. What I mean is it runs ok and then at times the roll out switch would pop and then I would rset it. It doesn't happen that often, lately more than what I'd like. I was wondering if cleaning it with a vacuum cleaner and just getting the dust and dirt out of it, and their's something that looks like charcoal just below the pilot light. I read quit a few of your responses to other's with similiar situation which I really got good info of what I might do. But their hasn't been any type of regular cleaning or even once nothing has been done for years. The first time the furnance wouldn't start, which was about two years ago, I called the hvac pro.and he started it right up and mentioned it needs cleaning or some other work or a new furnance. So I took the advice you gave to someone else, brought new air filters and I wanted to Know how to go about cleaning it up real good, If it were possible. And Thank You in advance.
sgtsheetrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heil Furnace Burner Problem timothyr HVAC 79 02-12-2014 07:01 PM
New High Efficiency Furnace Problem Buster 567 HVAC 8 12-13-2010 08:36 PM
Comfortmaker furnace problem Big Red HVAC 11 02-10-2008 05:56 PM
furnace problem captjack HVAC 8 11-23-2007 11:15 AM
another question for a miller furnace problem jb9270 HVAC 1 02-05-2007 02:04 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.