Rheem Criterion II Won't Fire Up. - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-23-2010, 07:00 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Rheem Criterion II won't fire up.


This Rheem Criterion II furnace was installed in 2001. I turned the gas off last year (in the spring) and didn't turn the power off to the furnace. When I turned to gas back on to the furnace this week and the furnace is not lighting. I have a video on Youtube that shows my furnace not lighting.



The "power" light comes on and the "Ok" light does too. The flame light doesn't turn on or light up. I have removed the flame sensor and cleaned it thoroughly (then put it back) but nothing happens. Can anyone help me heat the house?

Advertisement

clevelandguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2010, 07:23 PM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,034
Rewards Points: 706
Default

Rheem Criterion II won't fire up.


Does the exhaust fan turn on? Is the thermostat calling for heat? should have 24 volts AC between W and C on the board when it is, if not the tstat is the problem.

Advertisement

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2010, 07:52 PM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,410
Rewards Points: 4,472
Default

Rheem Criterion II won't fire up.


A video of it when it was running would have told us more.

So no one can tell you anything from that video other then its a furnace. Which you already know that.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 02:58 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Rheem Criterion II won't fire up.


So keep in mind that I'm a first timer with furnaces. The video shows the start up process as shown buy the manual. When I turn the thermostat to heat the furnace doesnt do anything.
But if I turn the thermostat to fan it does turn the furnace's blower on. So the thermostat is communicating with the furnace. But no heat.
This is my thermostat:
http://www.amazon.com/1F80-361-RODGE.../dp/B0010NVJAQ

Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
Does the exhaust fan turn on? Is the thermostat calling for heat? should have 24 volts AC between W and C on the board when it is, if not the tstat is the problem.
clevelandguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 03:11 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Rheem Criterion II won't fire up.


Would you like a video of the blower running? What can that tell us about the problem? I can turn the thermostat to fan and force the blower on. I have no exp of working with furnaces so explain steps to troubleshooting the problem. Thanks for your help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
A video of it when it was running would have told us more.

So no one can tell you anything from that video other then its a furnace. Which you already know that.
clevelandguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 03:13 PM   #6
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Rheem Criterion II won't fire up.


Jump the r & w wire at the t.stat & see if the furnace starts up. Maybe Bad t.stat or wired wrong
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 03:15 PM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,410
Rewards Points: 4,472
Default

Rheem Criterion II won't fire up.


A video of the furnace that shows the error code LED flashing when you have the thermostat calling for heat.

A description of what wires are connected where at the thermostat and in the furnace.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 03:31 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Rheem Criterion II won't fire up.




I see "W, RC, B, RC, C, G, O, Y on the board. So I turn the furnace off (at the furnace) then connect which 2 points? And then turn the furnace power on and see if the blower turns on?


Quote:
Originally Posted by kenmac View Post
Jump the r & w wire at the t.stat & see if the furnace starts up. Maybe Bad t.stat or wired wrong

Last edited by clevelandguy; 10-24-2010 at 04:04 PM.
clevelandguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 04:06 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Rheem Criterion II won't fire up.


There are no flashing lights. The Power light comes on and stays on and the OK light comes on and stays on. The Flame light however does not come on at all.

Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
A video of the furnace that shows the error code LED flashing when you have the thermostat calling for heat.

A description of what wires are connected where at the thermostat and in the furnace.
clevelandguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 04:09 PM   #10
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,410
Rewards Points: 4,472
Default

Rheem Criterion II won't fire up.


Generally means, its not receiving a call for heat. or anything else.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 04:15 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Rheem Criterion II won't fire up.


So were do I go from here.
When I turn the fan on the furnace blows. So it is getting a signal from the T.stat.

Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Generally means, its not receiving a call for heat. or anything else.

Last edited by clevelandguy; 10-24-2010 at 04:18 PM.
clevelandguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 04:21 PM   #12
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,410
Rewards Points: 4,472
Default

Rheem Criterion II won't fire up.


Quote:
Originally Posted by clevelandguy View Post
So were do I go from here.
When I turn the fan on the furnace blows. So it is getting a signal from the T.stat.
Only tells you that it gets a signal for the fan to run.
Doesn't mean it gets a signal for the heat to run.

Check wire connections at both the furnace and the thermostat.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 05:32 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Rheem Criterion II won't fire up.


All wires or should I check anything in particular?

Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Only tells you that it gets a signal for the fan to run.
Doesn't mean it gets a signal for the heat to run.

Check wire connections at both the furnace and the thermostat.
clevelandguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 05:35 PM   #14
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,410
Rewards Points: 4,472
Default

Rheem Criterion II won't fire up.


All teh wires that are in that bundle with the blue wire. or trace what the blue wire connects to.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 06:04 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Rheem Criterion II won't fire up.


Are you talking about the thermostat or or the furnace?
What is the bundle and what is the blue wire for? Remember that im new to this.
I checked all wire to the furnace and thermostat. They are all connected and tight. What is next?

Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
All teh wires that are in that bundle with the blue wire. or trace what the blue wire connects to.

Advertisement


Last edited by clevelandguy; 10-24-2010 at 06:19 PM.
clevelandguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with Rheem Criterion Furnace sweetsue777 HVAC 3 03-10-2012 12:13 PM
Rheem Criterion 2: high fan heat only dyincolor HVAC 2 03-27-2010 10:17 PM
rheem criterion II bryce HVAC 7 10-31-2009 04:54 PM
Need some help with Rheem Criterion II macaluso1 HVAC 4 01-05-2009 10:07 PM
Rheem Criterion lights, but only runs for 30 seconds max... all4naught HVAC 2 12-26-2008 08:36 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts