Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-26-2011, 02:41 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 9
Share |
Default

Rheem Criterion II has 1 flash


Seems like it's fine after the 1 hour lockup, once it runs for a while though, it will fire up a few times & lockup. The furnace is approximately 7yrs old. Could the limit switch be bad? If so, can I check it with a DMM for continuity once it locks up? Pretty sure it should be normally closed. And, what else can it be?

Wojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 03:49 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 50
Default

Rheem Criterion II has 1 flash


Sounds like it may be the high limit ( on the heat exchanger wall to the left of the inducer assembly). Check it as soon as it faults out. Yes it should be closed and show continuity.

Poppyloppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 04:45 PM   #3
User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Northern Nevada
Posts: 40
Default

Rheem Criterion II has 1 flash


This series will attempt 4 tries for ignition then lock out for an hour and will show by one flash code that it's in lock out.

With no full model or serial, no telling what you have, such as direct ignition or hot surface ignitor. This unit could have 4 different main boards in it as well.

If HSI then it can be older type that proves rectification through HSI and fails proving it if the resistance is to high (ohms).

If DS system then maybe flame sensor dirty or spark gap issue.

Could be dirty cross overs,low manifold (least liker's) and so on. Not much to go on with what you provided.
Subcooled is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 07:52 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 9
Default

Rheem Criterion II has 1 flash


Sorry about not enough info, I was half asleep when I posted. It is a RGPH-07EAUER. Sold my place, got married 6 months ago & moved in her house with the boys. She just told me that the furnace was doing the same thing about a year or two ago. She called the place that installed it & all they did was just clean it. That's about all the info that I can think of along with the included pics. Thanks in advance
Attached Images
  
Wojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 08:01 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 9
Default

Rheem Criterion II has 1 flash


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wojo
Sorry about not enough info, I was half asleep when I posted. It is a RGPH-07EAUER. Sold my place, got married 6 months ago & moved in her house with the boys. She just told me that the furnace was doing the same thing about a year or two ago. She called the place that installed it & all they did was just clean it. That's about all the info that I can think of along with the included pics. Thanks in advance
Forgot to add S/N
FD5D302F470208103
Wojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 08:04 PM   #6
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Rheem Criterion II has 1 flash


clean the flame sensor..............
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 08:45 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 9
Default

Rheem Criterion II has 1 flash


Might be a stupid question, but is it better to clean it with alcohol or use a green scouring pad? Don't really want to ruin a coating if it's sensitive to abrasives
Wojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 08:47 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 599
Default

Rheem Criterion II has 1 flash


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wojo View Post
Might be a stupid question, but is it better to clean it with alcohol or use a green scouring pad? Don't really want to ruin a coating if it's sensitive to abrasives
use a green scouring pad, aka a "scitchbright pad". Do not use sand paper or alcohol.
hvac benny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 10:02 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 9
Default

Rheem Criterion II has 1 flash


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvac benny

use a green scouring pad, aka a "scitchbright pad". Do not use sand paper or alcohol.
I scuffed the sensor with a green pad. The sensor did have a line around it like it was a bit eaten up. All back together now & waiting to see what happens. Maybe, I should invest in a flame sensor. Was not really that dirty though. Thank you
Wojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 07:51 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 9
Default

Rheem Criterion II has 1 flash


Just posting a ThankYou. Cleaned the flame sensor & it hasn't locked out since last night. Sensor does look a little pitted & I probably should get another one. Thanks again, the chill is out of the house finally.

Wojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rheem Criterion II calls for heat and sometimes works. cmkalka HVAC 1 12-08-2010 06:19 PM
Rheem Criterion II won't fire up. clevelandguy HVAC 18 10-30-2010 06:26 PM
rheem criterion II bryce HVAC 7 10-31-2009 03:54 PM
Need some help with Rheem Criterion II macaluso1 HVAC 4 01-05-2009 09:07 PM
Rheem Criterion lights, but only runs for 30 seconds max... all4naught HVAC 2 12-26-2008 07:36 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.