Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-01-2012, 09:28 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: WA State
Posts: 24
Share |
Default

Rheem Criterion 2 efficiency


It builds up in little white chunks as you can see from the post. I can squish it very easy.. it's soft

mwpaulson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 10:03 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: WA State
Posts: 24
Default

Rheem Criterion 2 efficiency


Quote:
Originally Posted by digitalplumber View Post
Can't help you with the wiring question.

As far as the dust is it soft or hard?
That's ok I started a different thead here so maybe someone can look at it and the new pic and tell me if I'm right in using a 1heat/1cool thermostat that I first got.

Thermostat Wiring O/B & W together?
mwpaulson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 07:15 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 1,026
Default

Rheem Criterion 2 efficiency


Well yes, if you have a single speed furnace and ac, then the one heat and one cool would be all you would need.

A second is needed, like in mine, when you have dual stage furnace. Furnace comes on at say 75% heating capacity (just estimate) then remains there until it determines if additional heat is needed. If no, it heats and thens shuts off normally. If it needs more heating capacity, it goes into 100% or High heat, warms home then shuts down.

or

In a dual stage furnace, if you want it to just blow 100% high all of the time you can connect just the high heat.
digitalplumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 01:32 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: WA State
Posts: 24
Default

Rheem Criterion 2 efficiency


Quote:
Originally Posted by digitalplumber View Post
Well yes, if you have a single speed furnace and ac, then the one heat and one cool would be all you would need.

A second is needed, like in mine, when you have dual stage furnace. Furnace comes on at say 75% heating capacity (just estimate) then remains there until it determines if additional heat is needed. If no, it heats and thens shuts off normally. If it needs more heating capacity, it goes into 100% or High heat, warms home then shuts down.

or

In a dual stage furnace, if you want it to just blow 100% high all of the time you can connect just the high heat.
From what I can tell and reading online specs about the Furnace it seems like it is single speed.

It keeps the house nice a warm at 70F without turning on but a few times throughout the night, fan stays on for like a few mins after the burners go off to blow the rest of the heat out witch is nice, the whole process from start to finish is only like maybe 4-5 mins and last night I only heard it come on a few times. My house is well insulated
mwpaulson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 02:41 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 1,026
Default

Rheem Criterion 2 efficiency


Quote:
Originally Posted by mwpaulson View Post
From what I can tell and reading online specs about the Furnace it seems like it is single speed.

It keeps the house nice a warm at 70F without turning on but a few times throughout the night, fan stays on for like a few mins after the burners go off to blow the rest of the heat out witch is nice, the whole process from start to finish is only like maybe 4-5 mins and last night I only heard it come on a few times. My house is well insulated

Sounds like you have a great setup!
digitalplumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 02:03 PM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: WA State
Posts: 24
Default

Rheem Criterion 2 efficiency


Quote:
Originally Posted by digitalplumber View Post
Sounds like you have a great setup!
I hope so, for an older system it seems to work great.

I'm having a different HVAC company come out and do the annual Maintenance, this is what they said they are going to do.

On a gas furnace they clean the burners, check the heat exchanger for any cracks, do a complete inspection on the switches/limits and clean those as need of soot etc. Outdoor unit the outdoor coil is checked, refrigerant levels and condensate lines cleared. It generally takes about an hour for the visit.

Price was not bad and they get the best reviews in my area.

The first HVAC guy that replaced the motor and put the filter in just gave me too high of a quote to do the same as this company.
mwpaulson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 02:17 PM   #22
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,903
Default

Rheem Criterion 2 efficiency


Quote:
Originally Posted by mwpaulson View Post
Does that matter? Seems to be fine.
galvanized can be used but is highly frowned on by most inspectors.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to yuri For This Useful Post:
mwpaulson (11-03-2012)
Old 11-03-2012, 02:20 PM   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: WA State
Posts: 24
Default

Rheem Criterion 2 efficiency


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
galvanized can be used but is highly frowned on by most inspectors.
Oh good, don't want to replace anything if I don't have to.
mwpaulson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 02:23 PM   #24
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,903
Default

Rheem Criterion 2 efficiency


galvanized is always a pain to seal even when doing water piping so it can be more prone to leaks but nat gas is supplied at .5psi on the supply so I would not worry. in the future use black iron.

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rheem Criterion II Flame on then off homeownerfl HVAC 12 01-16-2012 06:38 PM
Circuit Board for Rheem Criterion II Furnace jmkamk HVAC 2 01-16-2012 08:44 AM
Rheem Criterion II calls for heat and sometimes works. cmkalka HVAC 1 12-08-2010 06:19 PM
Rheem Criterion II won't fire up. clevelandguy HVAC 18 10-30-2010 06:26 PM
Need some help with Rheem Criterion II macaluso1 HVAC 4 01-05-2009 09:07 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.