Rheem Classic 90+ Burnet Flames Out - HVAC - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-25-2009, 03:44 PM   #16
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,569
Rewards Points: 4,776
Default

Rheem classic 90+ burnet flames out


Its a flame sensor.
Or in its basic of basic terms.

Its just a piece of metal.
Thats it, a piece of metal. I can use a piece of brazing rod in its place if I want to.

Flame Rectification. Is what you are measuring.

You shouldn't be measuring 3.4" manifold when it lights off.

Advertisement

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 03:46 PM   #17
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,569
Rewards Points: 4,776
Default

Rheem classic 90+ burnet flames out


An over loaded neutral somewhere else in the house has screwed up more then one furnace already.


PS: The V is PWM

Last edited by beenthere; 02-25-2009 at 04:29 PM.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 03:51 PM   #18
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,569
Rewards Points: 4,776
Default

Rheem classic 90+ burnet flames out


Here, read a little about flame rectification.

Flame Rectification
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 04:36 PM   #19
Newbie
 
RedNecker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Rheem classic 90+ burnet flames out


BeenThere; That is also my pickup truck license plate number BEN THERE. On the front, I have a vanity plate "DONE THAT"

Thank you, it goes to show an old dog of over 70 can learn new tricks. When I seen a new concept, I try to learn about it.

I read about the flame rectification you posted. Very interesting. It was completely new to me. It explains many of the problems I have.

Here is a good explanation also.

http://robinsofer.com/Johnstone_Supply.html

In effect the flame rod is a half wave rectifier & sends half wave DC pulses back to the controller. That is probably why I measured 480mVDC or .48 VDC at the sensor rod.

That answers why the flame can stay on for 1 second or 6 seconds & go out. The response time of the flame diode is .8 second. The flame can blow away from the sensor rod for a second & the flame goes out.

I will try bending the flame rod into a different part of the flame in the next couple of days. It may need a good steady hot spot.

Do you know the range & amplitude of the proper PWM of the "V" signal?

Last edited by RedNecker; 02-25-2009 at 07:05 PM.
RedNecker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 05:18 PM   #20
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,569
Rewards Points: 4,776
Default

Rheem classic 90+ burnet flames out


I have it somewhere, but, not sure where off hand.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 05:24 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 279
Rewards Points: 252
Default

Rheem classic 90+ burnet flames out


Quote:
Originally Posted by RedNecker View Post

What about the "V" modulating signal? Is it pulse-width? If it is what range & level is it?
If you see an 'H', your getting the V signal.
veesubotee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 05:35 PM   #22
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,137
Rewards Points: 912
Default

Rheem classic 90+ burnet flames out


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
An over loaded neutral somewhere else in the house has screwed up more then one furnace already.


PS: The V is PWM
Thats news to me. Can you or an electrician explain it to me/us.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 06:22 PM   #23
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,569
Rewards Points: 4,776
Default

Rheem classic 90+ burnet flames out


See your PM.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 06:01 PM   #24
Newbie
 
RedNecker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Rheem classic 90+ burnet flames out


I bent the old flame rod after the 90 degree bend into a slight "S".

Installed it & the furnace start up & the burner stayed lit.

Maybe I hit a hot spot with no flame flicker.

If it works all night, that was the fix.

Flame diode, damn, what will they think of next.

I have been out of the computer & electronic market for about 10 years.

Maybe now I can get on with the complete furnace calibration.

Thanks for the point in the right direction.

Red
RedNecker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 06:15 PM   #25
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Rheem classic 90+ burnet flames out


Some idiot at FT. Smith screwed up the spark gap? Well, no offense but that kinda stuff happens when you go DIY.

Any competent tech would have caught that. All the electronic training and hvac training won't got you thru the day alone.

You just gotta have enough experience to go the distance.

Glad you worked it out.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 03:15 PM   #26
Newbie
 
RedNecker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Rheem classic 90+ burnet flames out


What should the AC & DC voltage from flame sensor to ground be?

My old meter said 7 VAC & .48 VDC.

I got a new digital meter & it said 117 VAC no flame , 107 VAC with flame & 30 VDC peak.

Does that sound about right?

HVAClover: "Some idiot at FT. Smith screwed up the spark gap?"
What should the spark gap measure be in inches or what-ever ?

Last edited by RedNecker; 02-27-2009 at 03:54 PM.
RedNecker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 04:35 PM   #27
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Rheem classic 90+ burnet flames out


Quote:
Originally Posted by RedNecker View Post
What should the AC & DC voltage from flame sensor to ground be?

My old meter said 7 VAC & .48 VDC.

I got a new digital meter & it said 117 VAC no flame , 107 VAC with flame & 30 VDC peak.

Does that sound about right?

HVAClover: "Some idiot at FT. Smith screwed up the spark gap?"
What should the spark gap measure be in inches or what-ever ?
It's something a trained eye would have caught.


Beenthere was talking about manifold press should not be 3.4"wc at start.

I am done with this thread. I think you are just pranking this forum. You keep asking questions in such a way that makes me suspicious.

If you other guys got a gut feeling on this one I would advise you do the same.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 04:43 PM   #28
Newbie
 
RedNecker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Rheem classic 90+ burnet flames out


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
It's something a trained eye would have caught.


Beenthere was talking about manifold press should not be 3.4"wc at start.

I am done with this thread. I think you are just pranking this forum. You keep asking questions in such a way that makes me suspicious.

If you other guys got a gut feeling on this one I would advise you do the same.

You seem to be great on Put-Downs, but not so great on actual help. You have never actually answered a direct question.

Red
RedNecker is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to RedNecker For This Useful Post:
newtech (03-06-2012)
Old 02-27-2009, 04:53 PM   #29
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Rheem classic 90+ burnet flames out


Quote:
Originally Posted by RedNecker View Post
You seem to be great on Put-Downs, but not so great on actual help. You have never actually answered a direct question.

Red

I was just listening to you and letting Been do all the answering. He knows your equipment better than anyone here. I refer you back to the fact that you seem to know a lot but the questions you ask contradict that knowledge you possess.
But all I said I was just quitting your thread Why does that upset you unless you are POed about losing part of your audience.?
Any one who was nonplussed would just blow it off with out comment. You act like a comedian who had somebody walk out half way thru his schtick.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.

Last edited by hvaclover; 02-27-2009 at 04:57 PM.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 09:32 PM   #30
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,569
Rewards Points: 4,776
Default

Rheem classic 90+ burnet flames out


Installation instructions will have the acceptable readings for it listed.

Advertisement

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rheem IIBC Fan Speed Switch Settings budkocher HVAC 2 11-28-2012 06:33 PM
Rheem classic 90 plus venting question jjconst07 HVAC 2 07-04-2008 06:14 PM
installing new rheem furnace to old a coil rad488 HVAC 1 10-17-2007 09:07 PM
Rheem RXCH-A14 drain pan needed johnd393 HVAC 10 05-14-2007 01:58 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts