Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-21-2010, 07:48 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Rheem 2 Stage Thermostat


Does anyone know if I need a 2 stage thermostat in order to get the 95% efficency? I have been told no by one contractor and the other said in order to get the most efficiency i need a thermostat for a 2 stage furnace.

jdhsters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 08:09 PM   #2
30 year tech
 
hvac122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Posts: 427
Default

Rheem 2 Stage Thermostat


You don't need a two stage thermostat to get the 95% out of your furnace. You do need the two stage thermostat to get the best comfort out of the furnace.

If you don't use a two stage t-stat then your stages will be timed and you will get the full BTU's weather needed or not. I would use the two stage.

hvac122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 10:01 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2
Default

Rheem 2 Stage Thermostat


Thanks for your Post. Now if I'm getting the full BTU's all the time wouldn't use more gas and then it wouldn't be saving me much on my gas bill. The HVAC company that sold me on this furnance put in a cheap one stage thermostat and is refusing to put in the 2 stage one that was meant for this type of furnance. Is that standard practice or was he trying to get one by me thinking I would never know?
jdhsters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 10:12 PM   #4
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,317
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Rheem 2 Stage Thermostat


some companies install single stage stats when there are not enough wires pre-existing. I agree you should get a 2 stage stat for comfort. Your not running on full fire ALL the time. It is timed out in the control board. Usually 10 min on low fire and then if not satisfied the furnace upstages to full fire. GO back to your purchase contract and if it doesn't say 2 stage stat then you got what you got.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 10:34 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2
Default

Rheem 2 Stage Thermostat


I got another company to come in and install the 2 stage thermostat and they did string a wire down to the furnace and it was pretty easy. I feel the original company was just taking the cheapest and quickest way. In my opinion if a company is going to sell you on a 2 stage then they should install the right thermostat for the furnace. Do you think I have a legitamate complaint? They charged me $5k for the furnace which seems a bit high to be cutting corners.
jdhsters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2010, 02:23 AM   #6
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Rheem 2 Stage Thermostat


Quote:
Originally Posted by jdhsters View Post
I got another company to come in and install the 2 stage thermostat and they did string a wire down to the furnace and it was pretty easy. I feel the original company was just taking the cheapest and quickest way. In my opinion if a company is going to sell you on a 2 stage then they should install the right thermostat for the furnace. Do you think I have a legitamate complaint? They charged me $5k for the furnace which seems a bit high to be cutting corners.
Sorry sir, but you are making a mountain out of a mole hill. Yes, a two stage furnace gets more out of a two stage furnace. But it will also work with a single stage stat. So either stat would be considered the "right one" for your furnace.

We're you give a choice between the two stata?

I would have at least called the installer back. We explain the diff between two and single stage furnace to our buers. Some times they wave off the two stage and for get about it. Then we get a call the customer wants a two stage but thinks he should get it for no cost. We politely remind him he waved the two stage (we document that).
We than offer to install the two stage at the reduced rate they would have paid had they don it at the time of equipment install.
Mostly it makes everybody happy and we keep the customer.
Thean there are some despite being shown the waiver they signed insist the two stage was never offered to them.

I think my long winded explanation would have netted you a better price on the stat.

__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can a single stage thermostat used on 2 stage heat pump? deerhunter HVAC 10 11-06-2010 11:43 PM
2 stage thermostat with old wiring (4 wires)? bigbug HVAC 2 06-22-2010 12:34 PM
Multi stage heat pump thermostat marriedmanw HVAC 2 02-28-2010 04:12 PM
2 stage heating and thermostat settings BlueBSH HVAC 4 12-17-2009 08:07 AM
LSI thermostat stage settings trouble! weydoggy HVAC 1 11-27-2008 09:26 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.