Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-25-2012, 03:28 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 31
Share |
Default

Reznor XL-400-3 Question


Hello,
I have a 400,000 BTU input Reznor heater I want to install in my 2400 sq ft shop. I have 12' high block walls and a low slope wood roof. The roof is raised [framed] 4' above the front block wall and sitting on the wall in back. I want to put the heater in the back corner of the building. The heater is approx. 3'1" tall, so I have about 8'11" to work with. I needed to know how far below the wood deck the heater should be placed? Also, my flue pipe is 10" oval and will exit very near the back of the building through the roof. Will this cause any extra problems with snow/ice buildup/backup? The rear of the roof has been a problem area in the past. It is such a large roof that when the snow melts it moves to the rear of the roof and sits there causing premature failure.

Any comments/suggestions/opinions are greatly appreciated!
Thanks,

nadorp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 04:45 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,828
Default

Reznor XL-400-3 Question


Sounds like the roof isn't insulated. Which can cause the snow/ice damn problem you have.

You'll need to find the install instructions to know how much clearance you need above it to combustibles.

400,000 sounds a bit large for 2400 sq ft. guessing little to no insulation.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 07:23 PM   #3
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Reznor XL-400-3 Question


The clearances should be listed on the heater. Usually on the back by the rating plate.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 07:52 PM   #4
REP
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 615
Default

Reznor XL-400-3 Question


As mentioned ,you will need to know tolerances.You can call Reznor for informatin.you will also need the oval to round connector for the flue.You will need "B" vent to go through the roof.you will need at least 2 foot above the roof and you will need 10 feet clearance from the top of the flue pipe to any wall or other flat surface in all dsirections.
As others have said.you might want to insulate,Spray foam is quick and easy.
REP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 09:39 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 31
Default

Reznor XL-400-3 Question


Thanks for the replies.

I have no insulation, but I also didn't have heat until now. I tried contacting Reznor about getting manuals/literature and their response was "Since this model has been discontinued for more than 20 years, manuals are only available to HVAC technicians that are registered users of the Reznor website"
So, I need to figure this out without manuals.
nadorp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 09:51 PM   #6
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Reznor XL-400-3 Question


http://www.longviewweb.com/reznor/XL.pdf

Page 2 shows an example of tags that should be on your unit.

FYI, the heat exchangers on those crack often on the front side at the bottom corners of each cell.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 10:10 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 31
Default

Reznor XL-400-3 Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvactech126 View Post

FYI, the heat exchangers on those crack often on the front side at the bottom corners of each cell.
I'll have to check that out. If it is cracked, can it be fixed? and how much of a problem does it create?

Thanks!
nadorp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 03:31 PM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,828
Default

Reznor XL-400-3 Question


Cracked heat exchangers can't be fixed. they can be replaced. But when its an older furnace, its better to just replace the furnace.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
hvactech126 (10-26-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DRIcore question trailblazer1229 Flooring 0 02-24-2010 09:25 AM
3 Phase meter socket question a320200 Electrical 4 12-11-2009 12:45 AM
An unasked question is the only dumb question jackie treehorn Kitchen & Bath Remodeling 1 09-20-2009 08:24 PM
A question about water preassure. reasonforseason Plumbing 5 04-14-2009 04:36 PM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 08:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.