Reverse The Flow On FHA LP Furnace? - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-17-2009, 03:46 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Amherst, NH
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Question

reverse the flow on FHA LP furnace?


Hi There,

I just moved into a new place recently, and it appears the airflow on my furnace is backwards. I'm guessing it was an error in the install. What appears to be the returns are blowing hot air (there are two of them), and all the registers in the floor are sucking air. Is there an easy way to reverse the fan or something?

Advertisement

lcplbenee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2009, 04:10 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Western Kentucky
Posts: 118
Rewards Points: 75
Default

reverse the flow on FHA LP furnace?


Is this a brandy new place that never had occupants before? I'd rather think you have an obstruction otherwise. It is possible for the factory to wire a blower backwards.

Advertisement

hychesee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2009, 12:41 PM   #3
Member
 
Dr Heat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Northern Central IL
Posts: 94
Rewards Points: 75
Default

reverse the flow on FHA LP furnace?


A blower running backwards moves very little air. it loads up and freeweels in the housing like a car tire spinning on ice. The air will still move in the same direction.

If you have air coming out the returns and sucking in the supplies contact the installer and have him explain it.

IMHO there must be another explanation as this would be one big F... up. One or two ducts connected wrong maybe but all?
Dr Heat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2009, 05:49 PM   #4
Member
 
JohnH1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 428
Rewards Points: 250
Default

reverse the flow on FHA LP furnace?


It sounds like the oridginal furnace was a counter flow and someone installed a upflow. Most furnaces cannot be flipped to work as counterflow but some can. What is the info on the furnace.
JohnH1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2009, 06:34 PM   #5
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

reverse the flow on FHA LP furnace?


I smell a troll.

There is a way but first tell me how Long you have lived in the home.

Brand and seial number would be helpful
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lennox Furnace G27M Series Unreliable operation: pressure switch or else? sheppard1977 HVAC 7 01-14-2013 06:42 PM
Furnace air filtration advice stephen_smith HVAC 7 12-24-2010 03:24 AM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 02:55 PM
Filtering an up flow furnace without filter grills Rookietinner HVAC 1 11-20-2008 12:20 AM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 02:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts