Return Register Size For 16" Flex - HVAC - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-14-2008, 06:18 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,186
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Return Register Size for 16" Flex


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Guess you wouldn't like the 6" pipe that has 2000CFM moving through it.

This pipe runs 300', and has a 100 hp blower on it.
It also travels several foot into a treatment tank.
And runs at 5PSIG static presure.

If you got the Horse Power, you can move as much air as you want through a small pipe.


O P. How much air do you want this 16" flex to move.
That was my point exactly.

Hvaclover was having one of his slow days and didn't get it...

We love you hvaclover...just giving you a bad time....

Air guns move a lot of air at high velocity. I made one once that had a two stage air dump. One at the bottom and one half way up. The one half way up would dump the air once the arrow had passed that point. Kind of like an accelerator.

I did this as a science project in 8th grade with my dad. The physics teacher thought it was cool but the school thought it was to dangerous for a show and tell.

Advertisement

__________________
My idea of a perfect day: No where to go and all day to get there.
Marvin Gardens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2008, 07:35 PM   #17
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Return Register Size for 16" Flex


Quote:
Originally Posted by Marvin Gardens View Post
That was my point exactly.

Hvaclover was having one of his slow days and didn't get it...

We love you hvaclover...just giving you a bad time....

Air guns move a lot of air at high velocity. I made one once that had a two stage air dump. One at the bottom and one half way up. The one half way up would dump the air once the arrow had passed that point. Kind of like an accelerator.

I did this as a science project in 8th grade with my dad. The physics teacher thought it was cool but the school thought it was to dangerous for a show and tell.

How many 50 tons systems do you know use 16" flex.? That was the point.

Let's stay on topic shall we?
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2008, 12:13 PM   #18
Member
 
1610 CUB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Keokuk,Iowa
Posts: 209
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Return Register Size for 16" Flex


Quote:
Originally Posted by hartkem View Post
What size return register do I need for 16 inch flex. There will be one register centrally located in the hall way.
It looks like this 16" flex return is either in the floor or is it in the wall. Now if its in the floor a 16"sq hole should work. (16X16=260sq/in) Good for 3 ton at 800cfm.
But if its in the wall....... it will take a 3.5X70 hole in the wall cavity

Advertisement

1610 CUB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with return and supply size XHornet85 HVAC 9 09-17-2008 12:13 AM
Return Air Grille Size...? ssporty21228 HVAC 4 08-17-2008 11:00 PM
return duct size dave150 HVAC 4 02-20-2008 03:19 PM
What size should cold air return grille be? AllGoNoShow HVAC 1 02-27-2007 04:48 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts