Return Air Locations? - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-10-2011, 09:57 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ontario
Posts: 33
Rewards Points: 25
Default

return air locations?


I am installing new ductwork in a second floor,it is still wide open, I tore my roof off and added a full second floor. All work is from above I am in ontario, I have had heat loss calcs, and ducting design done. I am using open web floor trusses not joists, so my returns are actual (6x12) ducts. right now the designs show returns in the bedrooms installed low on the walls. There are 4 bedrooms, 3 are around 10'x12' with a 40x40 window facing south in each one. they are being supplied with a 5" round with a 4x10 grill directly under each window. Right now the designs show returns installed low on the walls with a 6x10 grill. what is the best way to get a 6x12 duct into a wall cavity? should I get a reducing 90 6x12 to 3.5x14 and turn it up into the wall or could i run past where I need to turn up block end then cut a slot in the floor where the wall will be. or could i just put them on the floor?

Thanks

Advertisement

dhubz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 10:06 AM   #2
Experienced
 
Jackofall1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern Michigan
Posts: 2,822
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

return air locations?


No I would not put them in the floor.

You don't need that size duct in the wall, the grill is that size to increase face area of the grill, to decrease face velocity allowing quieter operation. The standard wall cavity or 12.5 x 3.5 is adequate for RA.

To improve the effeciency of the system you should be putting what is known as high and low wall return air registers, high in the summer/AC season and low in the winter/heating season, naturally the grills have to have operators on them (like a wall mounted heat grill) to the selection can be made from season to season.

Mark

Advertisement

__________________
When its all said and done there is usually more said than done
Jackofall1 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jackofall1 For This Useful Post:
dhubz (02-10-2011)
Old 02-10-2011, 11:41 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ontario
Posts: 33
Rewards Points: 25
Default

return air locations?


Thanks,

looking at my layout again, i am going to have to branch off the 6x12 to pickup the actual wall location. is a 5" sufficient then i will transition to a stack 90 to pick up the cavity with a high and low return. The open web trusses are handy for somethings and a pain for others.
dhubz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 11:45 AM   #4
Experienced
 
Jackofall1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern Michigan
Posts: 2,822
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

return air locations?


Provide the largest opening possible, between the sub-floor and the wall cavity, just cut the sill plate and subflloor above the horizontal run. Installers also line the perimeter of the wall openning with sheet metal, to help cap the drywall off.

Mark
__________________
When its all said and done there is usually more said than done
Jackofall1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 04:11 PM   #5
Member
 
MikeKy55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 321
Rewards Points: 250
Default

return air locations?


This is in my basement, but it is one way of using stud cavities for return air. I used insulfoam between the studs and wall and then put 6mil plastic over the drywall side. Cut the section of top plate out.

Last edited by MikeKy55; 09-11-2011 at 09:29 AM.
MikeKy55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 06:51 PM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,520
Rewards Points: 4,682
Default

return air locations?


Floor returns are fine. Don't know if a 5" round supply for those bedrooms will be enough though.

How many CFM did they say you need to those rooms.

Advertisement

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Moving Return Vent Upstairs Rowhousefix HVAC 0 08-11-2010 03:39 PM
question about cold air return locations ponch37300 HVAC 4 01-11-2010 09:56 AM
Should I have let the ac guy close off a return? windowman3 HVAC 4 09-13-2009 09:23 AM
return air honola HVAC 11 08-13-2009 08:41 AM
Enough Return Air? mjbxx HVAC 3 02-12-2009 07:26 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts