Return Air Issues In Old Pier And Beam House - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-01-2012, 06:56 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Return Air Issues in old Pier and Beam House

I’m trying to address a problem with return air in my house’s HVAC system. I believe I have a solution but since I’m a beginner with HVAC I would appreciate feedback both on the general plan and the design details.

Here’s the equipment:
Furnace: Trane XV80, model TUD100R9V5J (2 stage, 52k BTU/80k BTU)
AC condenser: Trane XE 1200 model TTP042-SF-1B (3.5 ton).

The air handler / furnace is mounted vertically in a closet – it draws air from the crawl space and sends it up into ducts in the attic. The problem is there’s no duct work in the crawl space, nor is the crawl space sealed – it has a dirt floor. (There are return air grills in most rooms but they go directly to the crawl space, not duct work.)

To complicate matters, a concrete beam separates the closet’s crawl space from the rest of the house, so any return air must pass via the 5” high gap between the top of this beam and the bottom of the floor.

My first thought was to pan over the beam between the closet’s crawl space and the rest of the house, then add ducts. However, there just isn’t room. It’s a very-low ceiling crawl space and there’s already plenty of plumbing and electrical conduit down there - adding ductwork would prevent access to entire parts of the crawl space.

Fortunately, the house has a very open design. All rooms connect to a central hallway, and the closet shares a wall with the central part of this hallway. So if I can duct to the hallway I can fix the return air issue.