Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-13-2008, 10:49 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Return Air from Basement Only?


Can basement air serve as the only return air source?
Especially so if the are gas appliances present -i.e. furnace, water heater and electric clothes dryer, fire place ash pit?
I would think this is some sort of bldg violation

thefanwooder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 11:53 AM   #2
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Return Air from Basement Only?


You can have a return in a conditioned basement, but it certainly can't serve as the only return in a house. It would make the HVAC system pretty ineffective.

Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 12:16 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,186
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Return Air from Basement Only?


Air returns are all about air flow.

The return has to exceed the output since pulling in air is more strain on the motor than pushing it out.

For the most part you can have the return anywhere you want to as long as it is in the heated envelope. You can't pull in outside air because it will pressurize your home and force out heated or cooled air. It's a lot cheaper to use already conditioned air for almost all cases.

If you want to have a return in the basement here are some things to consider.

You have to have a clear path from the upstairs to the intake. This would include an open door or floor registers. I don't like doors in the way of the flow because if someone closes it they your flow is restricted. Not good.

I use physics to help me cut my heating and cooling costs and improve air flow.

In the summer I have intakes on the basement that pulls in cooler air and moves it to the upstairs. In the winter I pull warm air in the attic bedroom down to the furnace.

I just flip a few baffles when the intake flow changes. I am now in the winter settings and pull the warm air from the attic.

The short answer is yes, you can use basement air.
__________________
My idea of a perfect day: No where to go and all day to get there.
Marvin Gardens is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do I need a HVAC return vent in basement? westing HVAC 13 04-03-2014 01:43 AM
Basement Cold air return Bcoleman6 HVAC 2 06-07-2008 08:42 AM
Basement Return Location handy man88 HVAC 2 10-31-2007 06:53 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.