Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-22-2012, 06:51 PM   #16
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,755
Share |
Default

Residential air handler in modular home.


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
I meant the new air handler you installed. Its designed for return to come up from the bottom of the coil. You said no duct work under it.

On that particular one I'm going to have to add a return run and grill this week sometime. It's going to be on the floor, obviously, in the living area.

Right now it's choked off to the floor.

__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 06:52 PM   #17
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,033
Default

Residential air handler in modular home.


So do you gotta go back now and get return to that new modular air handler?
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 06:54 PM   #18
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,033
Default

Residential air handler in modular home.


LOL... You posted as I was writing my other post.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 06:56 PM   #19
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,755
Default

Residential air handler in modular home.


Now that you mention it I didn't need a filter rack either. This is emarrassing.

I told the guy we shouldn't be putting this thing in there but we had to have it done this week. Ordering all the equipment from Ohio would've take about a week in itself, putting us behind.

Now I'm shooting myself in the foot and regretting installing it altogether, the never ending nightmare.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 06:57 PM   #20
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,033
Default

Residential air handler in modular home.


Yep, I've been there.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 06:59 PM   #21
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,755
Default

Residential air handler in modular home.


I should've just had a custom return plenum made for the air handler to sit on, cutting the front out like a vertical closet unit. Maybe I'll just do that instead of having to crawl around and cut the floor up.

Ack.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 07:01 PM   #22
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,033
Default

Residential air handler in modular home.


Of course you would need to redo teh line s and drain line if you raise the air handler to put a big enough return air box/plenum under it.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 07:05 PM   #23
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,755
Default

Residential air handler in modular home.


Not only that, but I'll be needing to shorten the supply plenum. I really didn't think this through.

Live and learn, I guess. Say you doing anything this week? I have a residential electrical air handler in a modular home that needs some work done to it...
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 07:19 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: winnipeg manitoba canada
Posts: 779
Default

Residential air handler in modular home.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Holliday View Post
Not only that, but I'll be needing to shorten the supply plenum. I really didn't think this through.

Live and learn, I guess. Say you doing anything this week? I have a residential electrical air handler in a modular home that needs some work done to it...
oh my
carmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 07:49 PM   #25
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,033
Default

Residential air handler in modular home.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Holliday View Post
Not only that, but I'll be needing to shorten the supply plenum. I really didn't think this through.

Live and learn, I guess. Say you doing anything this week? I have a residential electrical air handler in a modular home that needs some work done to it...
ROFL.

I'll let you have that redo fun.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 09:39 PM   #26
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,755
Default

Residential air handler in modular home.


16" x 20" is the filter rack filter size which is specific to the 3 ton system but isn't that only half of what's needed? 25" x 25" would allow 1250 cfm.

16 x 20 = 320 (gross total area) x's 2 (cubic feet per square inch) = 640cfm. Why would they give such a small size filter and rack? Just to match the cabinet size of the air handler?

25" x 25" = 625 x's 2 = 1250. 3 ton system @ 400 cfm per ton requiring 1200 return cfm minimum.
__________________
Thanks.

Last edited by Doc Holliday; 04-22-2012 at 09:45 PM.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 09:48 PM   #27
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Residential air handler in modular home.


you are correct... They use that size to match the cabinet. In order to use that size you need a $1 filter that captures nothing.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 09:53 PM   #28
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,755
Default

Residential air handler in modular home.


That's what I use on my own home. I just want to catch dog hair and dirt, just the big stuff, without restricting any air flow.

Thanks.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 10:19 AM   #29
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,755
Default

Residential air handler in modular home.


Good news! I was about to go and rip out off the newly installed "old" equipment, ordering the correct equipment from Dallas to install, but was told the home is being moved (possibly torn down) and to leave it.

That's a brand new modular home, never been lived in and it's already being destroyed and I just installed a brand new hvac system. I think someone bought the land and is building a regular home, not on bricks.

Next time though I'll have the right equipment.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 04:56 PM   #30
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,755
Default

Residential air handler in modular home.


I still can't believe it, all that money just out the window.

And that's pretty decent equipment, too. New trash, I guess.

__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1938 TN Home - My First Home, My First project, Tons of Pictures!!! Firefighter3244 Project Showcase 78 07-01-2014 10:55 PM
modular home flooring problem wen Flooring 1 08-15-2005 01:11 PM
A facelift for your home Grumpy Remodeling 0 07-07-2004 07:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.