Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-23-2012, 07:38 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Lafayette, LA
Posts: 97
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Rerouting air ducts


Hi Everyone,

I'm kicking around an idea and would like some input from ya'll.

I have a double wide mobile home. The ducts are run under the joists with the registers in the floor. I have four inside fuzzies (2 dogs, 2 cats) and a wife that all shed hair like you wouldn't believe.

With the air blowing, it can catch a stray hair on the floor and just throw it everywhere. This is especially a big problem in the kitchen.

I looked into maybe doing a major renovation to run it through the attic, but there's almost zero headroom in the attic.

So here's what I'm thinking. My walls have 2 1/2 inches of space in them. Most of these walls will be removed and redone with 2x4 giving me 3 1/2".

Do you think it would work if I cap off the existing ducts on the floor, and rerun an appropriate sized square duct in the walls, venting near the ceiling?

What do ya'll think?

Thanks,
Timothy

myowneq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2012, 08:47 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,061
Rewards Points: 12
Default

Rerouting air ducts


Would need to redo the trunk line to a larger size to get enough air flow.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2012, 10:12 PM   #3
REP
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 615
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Rerouting air ducts


If you raised the roof,you could use cieling registers and better insulate the home.This would also allow you to use the existing set up for a return air system adding a lot of comfort.
Redoing the walls as stated would also allow you to better insulate.The overall result sould show up in much easier utilities bills.
REP is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Transite HVAC ducts Jordy HVAC 1 06-18-2012 04:25 AM
Transfer ducts rock!!! bobinphx HVAC 18 01-29-2012 05:15 PM
So I looked INSIDE one of my HVAC ducts, see what I find? htabbas HVAC 4 11-22-2011 05:17 PM
Can you glue to HVAC Ducts tro0925 HVAC 3 03-24-2011 03:31 PM
Using PVC ducts instead of standard ducts robertmazzo HVAC 3 10-05-2006 04:26 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.