Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-11-2012, 01:15 PM   #1
CFR
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Replacing thermostat wiring.


I have a 2H/1C Honeywell T8411R, that I want to replace with the programmable thermostat. My current wiring is as follows:
Orange = O
Blue = C
Green = G
Yellow = Y
White = W2
Red = R
Black is not connected.
Brown is not connected.
Nothing is connected to L.
Nothing is connected to W1.
Nothing is connected to E.
Nothing is connected to B.
W1 and Y are linked.
The programmable thermostat has the following options:
E,Aux,,Y,G,O,L,R,B,C.
How do my existing wires connect to new thermostat.

Last edited by CFR; 08-11-2012 at 02:09 PM.
CFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 01:37 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: MD
Posts: 272
Default

Replacing thermostat wiring.


first thing is turn off power to the indoor unit or you run the risk of shorting the transformer.

E=for emergency heat can be connected to that but will be fine if left with nothing. tstat will use 2nd stage contacts to engergize aux when placed in emergency heat. for a homeowner I would not recomend making changes to use it or jumping to Aux terminal. only down side to not using it is if unit is placed in emergency heat set point will be 1 degree below act temp.
Aux=white
Y=yellow
G=green
O=orange
L=nothing
R=red
B=nothing
C=blue
turnermech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 03:09 PM   #3
CFR
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Replacing thermostat wiring.


Thanks for the quick reply. I am a little confused, it sounds like the Em Heat function was not even functional on my old tstat? Would it be better to use a 1H/1C tstat with W,Y,G,O,Rc,R,B,C, since there is nothing hooked up to E on my old tstat.
CFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 03:31 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: MD
Posts: 272
Default

Replacing thermostat wiring.


no by your wiring i would guess you have a heat pump with electric (or some other) back up heat. E termianal or emergency heat is quite offen not hooked up. It is better to hook it up not required. Without it the only thing is if you ever need to use the emergency heat function (does not happen often typically when your outside unit had a problem) the tstat will only be able to energize the electric heat by the second stage of the tstat. Really not that big of a deal. Easy to fix but depending on you level of knowledge not required. you do need the 2 heat 1 cool stat you have
turnermech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 04:08 PM   #5
CFR
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Replacing thermostat wiring.


Thanks for the confirmation. I have not used Em Heat in 5 years that I have been in the house, so I will not worry about it and use your wiring recommendation. Thanks again.
CFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Normal -> IP Thermostat Wiring duren HVAC 2 07-24-2012 08:41 PM
Question about replacing line voltage thermostat thinksincode HVAC 5 01-12-2012 10:26 AM
Unexpected wiring found on existing thermostat mportobello HVAC 12 03-30-2010 06:11 AM
Problem with Lennox Pulse Furnace Wiring to Thermostat scalvin Electrical 4 12-30-2009 07:48 PM
Replacing thermostat...................... sktn77a HVAC 6 09-02-2009 10:07 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.