Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-27-2011, 02:43 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 7
Share |
Question

Replacing thermostat, no heat (heat pump, 2 stage heat, 1 stage cool)


Hello everyone. First time poster here, looking for some basic advice on what should be an easy project.

I have a heat pump system w/ 2 stage heat and 1 stage cool. I am replacing a Honeywell TH1210D1008 thermostat with a Hunter 44860 I have owned for a couple of years.

After installing the Hunter stat, the A/C and fan works properly, but the heat does not work, nor does the fan work while set to heat. The stat indicates that the heat and fan turns on, but the unit does not respond and there is no air flow. When I reinstall the Honeywell stat, everything works as expected.

I am stumped. At this point, I can only assume that the Hunter instructions are incorrect, the stat is broken or I have missed something simple. Images of the completed wiring for both models are located below.

Any help is greatly appreciated and thanks in advance!

Honeywell_TH1210D1008.jpg
Hunter_44860.jpg

BrianJM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 03:58 PM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,904
Default

Replacing thermostat, no heat (heat pump, 2 stage heat, 1 stage cool)


First, why are you changing out the thermostat. Second why are you using that Hunter POS thermostat. Stick with Honeywell for the thermostat. As for the instructions being incorrect, doubtful. Majority of the time, it is fault of the installer by not carefully reading and checking the info, or worst not shutting off power to the hvac system, and the person installing, blows a fuse, the transformer, or worst, the main circuit board in the air handler.

Sorry for being harsh, but you live and learn. Stuff like thermostats, I tend to check them out before purchasing, by downloading the user manual and making sure that it will work with my system, before proceeding with the work.

__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 04:21 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 7
Default

Replacing thermostat, no heat (heat pump, 2 stage heat, 1 stage cool)


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
First, why are you changing out the thermostat. Second why are you using that Hunter POS thermostat. Stick with Honeywell for the thermostat.
First, the Honeywell is non-programmable; I want a programmable stat. Second, as I stated previously, I already own it and would prefer to save $50+ on a new stat if I have no reason to buy another. Ironically, the POS Hunter stat has a feature the Honeywell programmable stats lack - fan refresh cycles.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
As for the instructions being incorrect, doubtful. Majority of the time, it is fault of the installer by not carefully reading and checking the info, or worst not shutting off power to the hvac system, and the person installing, blows a fuse, the transformer, or worst, the main circuit board in the air handler.
I tripple checked the install. I also provided pictures of the install completed and the install instructions. Any help you may be able to provide, referencing the information provided, would be helpful. I have enough common sense to cut the breaker for A/C and heat; if for no other reason, I don't want to touch a hot wire.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Sorry for being harsh, but you live and learn. Stuff like thermostats, I tend to check them out before purchasing, by downloading the user manual and making sure that it will work with my system, before proceeding with the work.
The manual states it will work with heat pumps with up to 2 stage heat / 2 stage cooling. There should be no issue with compatibility.

I appreciate your response, but I was hoping for more help considering the information I provided (pictures and manual). Sorry for being harsh.
BrianJM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 04:28 PM   #4
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,904
Default

Replacing thermostat, no heat (heat pump, 2 stage heat, 1 stage cool)


Go back anddouble check the wiring. If not working, put back in the old thermostat, and see if the unit works.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 04:45 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 7
Default

Replacing thermostat, no heat (heat pump, 2 stage heat, 1 stage cool)


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Go back anddouble check the wiring. If not working, put back in the old thermostat, and see if the unit works.
Done and Done. The original unit works.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrianJM View Post
When I reinstall the Honeywell stat, everything works as expected
BrianJM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 04:51 PM   #6
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,317
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Replacing thermostat, no heat (heat pump, 2 stage heat, 1 stage cool)


did you program the new stat for heat pump with back up heat?


__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS

Last edited by hvactech126; 09-27-2011 at 05:01 PM.
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 04:52 PM   #7
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,556
Default

Replacing thermostat, no heat (heat pump, 2 stage heat, 1 stage cool)


Without having read the manual you provided, one thing sticks out in the pictures. The old Honeywell does not have an "RH" terminal whereas the Hunter does. You might need a small jumper wire from "RC" to "RH" as heating is not getting power.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 04:57 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 7
Default

Replacing thermostat, no heat (heat pump, 2 stage heat, 1 stage cool)


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvactech126 View Post
did you program the new stat for heat pump with back up heat?
I set it up as such:

SYSTEM: Heat Pump
FURNACE TYPE: Electric

I don't see any system options relating to the back up heat.
BrianJM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 05:01 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 7
Default

Replacing thermostat, no heat (heat pump, 2 stage heat, 1 stage cool)


Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Holliday View Post
Without having read the manual you provided, one thing sticks out in the pictures. The old Honeywell does not have an "RH" terminal whereas the Hunter does. You might need a small jumper wire from "RC" to "RH" as heating is not getting power.
Thanks for your feedback.

Page 73 of the install guide, which is for conventional HVAC, mentions adding a jumper between RH and RC/R for various HVAC single stage systems. Do you think this is still required?

Page 74 of the install guide, which is for heat pumps, mentions adding a jumper between W2 to E if there is no E wire. I did this.
BrianJM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 05:04 PM   #10
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,317
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Replacing thermostat, no heat (heat pump, 2 stage heat, 1 stage cool)


Buy a honeywell!
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 05:06 PM   #11
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,556
Default

Replacing thermostat, no heat (heat pump, 2 stage heat, 1 stage cool)


Remove the incoming red stat wire going to rc and put it on rh. I'll be willing to bet you will then have heat and no cooling.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 05:07 PM   #12
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,556
Default

Replacing thermostat, no heat (heat pump, 2 stage heat, 1 stage cool)


Quote:
Originally Posted by BrianJM View Post
Thanks for your feedback.

Page 73 of the install guide, which is for conventional HVAC, mentions adding a jumper between RH and RC/R for various HVAC single stage systems. Do you think this is still required?

Page 74 of the install guide, which is for heat pumps, mentions adding a jumper between W2 to E if there is no E wire. I did this.

you said it yourself, the instructions are wrong.

Try the red wire moved to rh and see what happens.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Doc Holliday For This Useful Post:
BrianJM (09-27-2011)
Old 09-27-2011, 05:17 PM   #13
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,556
Default

Replacing thermostat, no heat (heat pump, 2 stage heat, 1 stage cool)


E stands for emergency heat so all you did was hook up w2 to emergency. You still don't have 24 volts to the heating circuit, me thinks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 07:06 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 729
Default

Replacing thermostat, no heat (heat pump, 2 stage heat, 1 stage cool)


Put in the jumper for rh to rc.
Master of Cold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 08:31 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 7
Default

Replacing thermostat, no heat (heat pump, 2 stage heat, 1 stage cool)


Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Holliday View Post
you said it yourself, the instructions are wrong.

Try the red wire moved to rh and see what happens.
I'll give it a try later tonight and post an update. If this makes the heat work and disables the A/C, I will try a jumper.

BrianJM is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hunter Thermostat Model 44860 Heat Pump Emergency Heat Does Not Work On Auto stvnhdmpa HVAC 8 12-08-2010 05:44 PM
heat pump cut off set point oldswab HVAC 4 12-02-2009 02:09 PM
Replacing thermostat...................... sktn77a HVAC 6 09-02-2009 10:07 PM
Heat Pump vs Aux Electric Heat batolson HVAC 16 01-17-2009 10:28 AM
programmable thermostat + heat pump Potomac101 HVAC 10 12-03-2008 10:02 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.