Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-28-2008, 04:45 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

replacing rectangular duct with 6" pipes


Hi,
I currently have an "extended plenum system" with one large rectangular duct (24"x6", 25' long) and 4 6" pipes branching off. I want to replace the rectangular duct and just go with flexible 6" pipes the whole way because the rectangular duct is large and taking up valuable headroom whereas it will be possible to more or less hide the pipes. Will this result in significant reduction in airflow? Is there a rule of thumb for how long you can go with a 6" pipe?
Thanks!
Peso

peso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2008, 04:51 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2
Default

replacing rectangular duct with 6" pipes


Actually, they don't have to be flexible, they can be regular metal pipes if that's better. They would just need a couple 45 degree elbows.

peso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2008, 09:36 AM   #3
oops, did I do that!
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: mid michigan
Posts: 290
Default

replacing rectangular duct with 6" pipes


Not a good idea to remove the branch duct 24x6.

Yes it will effect air flow.

15ft is normaly the max for flex duct.

In order to achieve the same velocity and volume, you would have to start out with a larger diameter duct...more loss of headroom.

Again...not a good idea.

Last edited by 8 Ball; 05-31-2008 at 09:44 AM.
8 Ball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2008, 08:05 AM   #4
Member
 
coolmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: jersey
Posts: 135
Default

replacing rectangular duct with 6" pipes


removeing the main trunk and bring all pipes to the plenum above the furnace is a bad idea. we call this a octapuss design, usally designed by some HACK. depending on how long the 6" runs are you will have uneven flow. get a pro to come in to see how best to fix your problem.
coolmen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008, 08:43 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 0
Default

replacing rectangular duct with 6" pipes


mmmmmm
ro9beam2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Drain Pipes, Walls and Studs mattaparity Plumbing 2 12-18-2011 07:22 AM
Condensation in Wall: Can I Seal a Dryer Duct With Caulk? xquercus HVAC 5 07-01-2007 02:33 PM
1000-1400cfm...duct sizing Swordfish215 HVAC 1 01-15-2007 03:22 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.