Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-14-2010, 02:42 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Replacing Old Thermostat with Totaline


I am replacing an old, circular thermostat in our church with a Totaline P374-1700. The thermostat controls only A/C, and we chose Totaline to be reset in the same way as Totaline P374-1800's which had been installed for new A/C's elswhere in the church.

The old thermostat was hooked up to 3 wires, Red, Yellow, and Green. I hooked up the same wires to the indicated terminals on the new Totaline, turned on the power, and nothing happened. The thermostat showed no sign of power or life.

I went to the previously installed P374-1800's (also for A/C only) and found that the 3 wires, and the jumpers, were identical; but the P374-1800's had an additional blue wire, connected to the "C" terminal.

Must I put in 4-wire wiring to the P374-1800, or is there a way it will work with the 3 wires already in place?

40bill40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 04:26 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,512
Default

Replacing Old Thermostat with Totaline


Need 4 wires.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
3-wire, thermostat, totaline


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing Honeywell thermostat with another Honeywell flipz HVAC 4 02-06-2010 04:19 PM
Replacing a thermostat mnwalsh1 Introductions 0 11-08-2009 01:31 PM
Replacing thermostat...................... sktn77a HVAC 6 09-02-2009 10:07 PM
Totaline thermostat trouble shooting Goldwing93 HVAC 3 07-30-2009 10:35 PM
Totaline thermostat to work with two wires evlap HVAC 8 11-15-2008 07:49 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.